Digital Electronic project: "4-BIT ADDER/substractor"

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

Hooooolaaaa My steemit friends!! Here I am again. Today I'll show you one my digital electronic projects, This is a 4-BIT complete adder that sums and substracts binary numbers.

Webp.net-resizeimage (3).jpg

Components

Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg

  • 7486 (XOR GATE)
  • 7483 (COMPLETE ADDER GATE)
  • Wires
  • Resistors
  • Diodes LED
  • Voltage Source (5V)
  • Multimeter (Optional)

Diagram Connection

Webp.net-resizeimage (4).jpg

First of all I use to make what I call in this case a "Logic Diagram connection" in order to place every single component in the correct way, in this way I don't lose time, everything turns easier and I don't destroy my components doing a bad connection :(

Logic Connection Drawing

Webp.net-resizeimage (2).jpg

Here you have the main diagram, based on this one you can make the connection diagram showed before.

Here you can see the 4-BIT adder process.

Webp.net-resizeimage (8).jpg

Proccess

To sum 2 binary numbers you put each one in each pin, here you got A and B. You can see I put 1 in B, 0 in C (Carry) and 1 in A. If you sum 1 + 1 in binary it shows you 1 0, 1 goes to the Carry output and 0 goes to the "normal" output. (Picture)

Webp.net-resizeimage (5).jpg

To this circuit to work you first need to put 2 binary numbers, one in each gate. I called A1,A2,A3,A4 my binary number inputs in each one of the gates.

You see they actually have B1,B2,B3,B4 inputs aswell, talking about the 7486 they will be a condition, If you put 0 you SUM, if you put 1 you SUBSTRACT

Talking about this binary system when I talk about 1 and 0 I'm talking about the voltage that you put in each pin, for example, 5V means 1 logic, and 0V means 0 logic.

Here you have a descriptive image:

Webp.net-resizeimage (6).jpg

Diodes LED represent this positions in the circuit. (Here's a video about this project)

I mentioned about A1,A2,A3,A4 but what happens with B and Y?

Simple: the 7486 gate have 4 integred gates, each one have 2 inputs and 1 output, In this case I called An and Bn its inputs and Yn its outputs, these outputs goes to the Bn inputs of the 7483 gate.

The 7483 gate has 4 integred complete adders, It means 4 "little" squares like that I showed before, so you can see that you are adding number by number and It makes the hard work.

The 7483's outputs Called Sn goes to Diodes LED to represent a binary number. They are in a convenient position to show us each BIT position.

Before the diode LED goes a resistor that limits the current to the diode, in this way It works and don't destroy itself.

I used 300 OHM resistors, they gave me 16,66 mA enough to light the LED. I used 3mm LED, and they normally work with 20 mA, so the best resistor to use here is 250 OHM.

Also a PROTEUS SIMULATOR picture:

Webp.net-resizeimage (7).jpg

Thanks

Thanks a lot to you my appreaciate reader for reading my post, I hope you liked it and enjoyed it :) I'm really making my effort to give you my best! Have a great day, take care, and see you soon! Bye-Bye.

Sort:  

You really worked hard for this one bro, and it looks amazing, I'll try it soon and use this post as a guide !

Heeey man! Thanks a lot for your supporting and your comment, I'll be waiting for your post :)

Congratulations @acostajd ! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Hey man, you MUST change TAG english for TAG steemstem for them to notice this wonderful post of yours. Do it man, this is the strongest community here for such posts as yours. Do it now, and hopefully you'll be taken in their upcoming digest. #steemstem

Hey, here's my friend @johnstone hahaha, thanks for the advice man, I'll change my tag right know to try that one. Thanks for your support!!!

It will work my brother! I know them pretty well. So this @steemstem community is the best one for you, cause they are in constant search for such intelligent people as you are @acostajd and you can always find there some fellow who is also very good in Electronics and that will be very cool, don't you think so?!))

Absolutely agree, I'm already using that tag. Thanks again my friend.

Well done @acostajd! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Portugal vs Morocco
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Karlys from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75