My house is going Solar!

in #technology6 years ago


GOING SOLAR!

sunnerd
Source

I just had my second meeting with a solar panel company, Sun Nerds, and signed the papers to go solar. To satisfy my annual use of about 9500kwh, the solar panel install will run me about $115 a month (or about 76 STEEM at the current rate) on a 20-year loan. The upside to that is I will no longer be paying the power company. I signed up for a wind power plan a couple years ago as well for $15 per month which I'll have to cancel, and my normal electric bill is about $90. I'll still have to pay the power company about $20 to maintain service with the grid because I will not be getting batteries for the panels.

So how much will it cost?

Net cost will end up being about $25 per month beyond what I currently pay.

Not too sure that's a good deal...

Well, it might not be at first, but, like cryptos, it'll gain value over time. See, due to several environmental variables, they cannot say exactly how much sunlight you'll get a day. So for simplicity, they calculate everything at a baseline of 5.5 hours of daylight. With only 5.5 hours of daylight a day, I will generate enough power to meet my current yearly needs. Now, Colorado has more clear, sunny days than the Sunshine State, Florida. We can get a solid 10 hours of sunlight on about 300 days out of the year. That's a lot more than we use.

When you have unused power, it's picked up by the power company who has to offer to buy it from you (for much less than you would have paid them for it I'll bet). If you don't sell, you will build a "pool" of kilowatt-hours to use if you find yourself going over the amount your panels generate.

On top of that, they qualify for a tax credit. These panels will get me a tax credit next year of over $7000, which I might put toward the panels.

Couldn't you buy less panels, and then reduce your cost so you can still pay the same amount?

You know, I was wondering the same thing. Maybe? I mean I can do that, but I'd want to have guaranteed 100% solar.

Can I get solar panels from Sun Nerds in my area?

Sun Nerds is a US company, and they currently have people in the states colored orange.

Source

They also have a referral program, so if you go with Sun Nerds, let them know you heard about it from Alan Tenore of Denver, CO

Sort:  

Great to see green energy becoming more of a thing nowadays. You should also check to see whether you are eligible for some Solarcoin on-top of what you will be earning.

Great post, I hope people see this and hopefully make the switch to solar!

We have Solar and I love it!
Congratulations on getting your system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60