Facebook Asks "Does This Post Contain Hate Speech" On Each Post

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

I was cruising around Facebook today and noticed something really unusual on EVERY SINGLE post that I was seeing. I had never noticed it before and I even tried to google it to see if this was a new feature. When I refreshed Facebook, it had disappeared from all of the posts. Have you ever seen this little tag at the bottom before?

facebook-3324207_640.jpg
facebook1.jpg

There it was. At the end of my friends' posts, the groups I follow, everywhere. I couldn't get away from it and I was baffled by it being everywhere. What was it there for? How long has it been there? What happens if I click yes?

I had to check it out, so I clicked no on a friend's post and the tag just disappeared like it was never there. I didn't want to get someone blocked or kicked off for pushing the yes button.

So I decided to do a little digging to see what Facebook defines hate speech as, and I found this little blurb:

Content that attacks people based on their actual or perceived race, ethnicity, national origin, religion, sex, gender or gender identity, sexual orientation, disability or disease is not allowed. We do, however, allow clear attempts at humor or satire that might otherwise be considered a possible threat or attack. This includes content that many people may find to be in bad taste (example: jokes, stand-up comedy, popular song lyrics, etc.).

So it's okay if it's an obvious joke, but if you say something that someone perceives as hate speech, they can flag you and Facebook will take the necessary steps...whatever those might be. So if I post something about how crazy Panamanian drivers are and my Panamanian friend thinks that's hate speech, she can flag me and Facebook might kick me off.

facebook.png

Don't get me wrong, I like Facebook okay, but I'm not a diehard fan. It is starting to get on my nerves because every time I log on, it's showing me the exact same posts that it showed me last time. "Yep, I've already liked that one and I'm done reading all the comments that my friends have commented on that same post."

It's getting frustrating and I'm contemplating giving it up. The only thing holding me back is the fact that I'm in Panama and that is quite possibly the only way I keep in touch with some people, including members of my family. Plus it is how I get all the news for the groups I'm in, like the ones that tell me when the next gringo meet up is!

Since that little line showed up at the bottom of the posts that one time, it hasn't popped back up again. Where did it go? Will it come back up again? What happens if I do want to flag something as hate speech? Will this become a regular feature of Facebook? Is what I consider hate speech and what you consider hate speech the same thing? Does hate speech overrule free speech?

facebook1.jpg

I just found this article which said it was only live for less than an hour this morning. Apparently if you click yes, it shows a pop up of what hate speech is.

Have you seen this on your Facebook feed?

1panama ben fb.jpg

First Facebook Image provided by Pixabay. Other images mine.

Sort:  

I have not seen it before but I don't use FB a lot these days. They are in damage control that is for sure.

Wow, that’s creepy... thanks for noticiing it and letting us know — and I’m glad you found an article woth more info. I’ve never seen it before, but it sounds like a template for censorship of Facebook. Thank God we don’t have to worry about that on Steemit.

Hi. I'm not aware of this new facebook tool.
Actually since I'm in steemit, I've stopped being on facebook. Thanks for your notice. I will keep it in mind. regards

I haven't seen that. It's worrying because it could be used as a tool to stop debate and conversation if it's going the way someone doesn't like. I think a simple "flag" button would be more appropriate.
And I have noticed the same stories being displayed on my Facebook feed that I've already read and commented on. I thought it was just a symptom of my ageing phone!

I, too have grown tired of FB, but like you, keep it for the same two reasons. Hopefully something better will pop up soon.

This complete garbage. It will not be long before Facebook will have automation censoring “hate” automatically. Facebook is garbage.

I seldom check FB these days but I did see somewhere today that Facebook were testing the concept of flagging Hate Speech and accidently turned it on for the whole site and hence why you saw it.

How they will monitor of police a policy such as thet I have no idea it could go wrong as you ,mention and or be abused by people

LOL. So that's what the "hate speech"thing was about I saw @johnvibes and @growingfreedom post about today. I stopped using fakebook on 4/20 but still peruse a little and use messenger. So glad I'm done with that waste of time.

I can't conclude my facebook use for the reasons you state. It is still too popular, and useful for the homeschool groups, etc. But the content I basically ignore. Interesting about the hate speech experiment.

I have not seen this new little blurb, but you bring up good questions. I am wondering how this will turn out, because although I believe hate speech should not happen, I think free speech is something more important then not being hated at..... How do they judge the difference? where are these lines drawn? will others draw them for us if we do not make the lines clear?
HMMMM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.12
ETH 2932.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62