Google's Artificially Intelligent App DUPLEX Passed the Turing Test

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

artificial_intelligence_benefits_risk-1400x430.jpg

First let me elaborate what exactly is Turing Test?
In this test, one machine and human participate in same kind of test and the result would be evaluated by another human evaluator. Evaluator would be unaware of the identities when evaluating those test and if somehow machine exhibits exceptionally intelligent behavior then it can led the human evaluator to think its actually human.

Turing_test_diagram.png

Recently Google AI named DUPLEX conducted same kind of test at Google’s yearly developer conference.

Test 1 - Appointment for Hair Saloon

Test was carried out via phone call to book an appointment for hair saloon and the whole exact conversation initiated like this:

Duplex AI

Hi, I’m calling to book a woman’s hair cut appointment for a client, um, I’m looking for something on May third?

Call Attendant then asked to wait for a moment to which following response was given by Duplex

Mmm-hmm.

Eventually it was able to successfully book an appointment after choosing from various options.

Test 2 - Table Reservation at a Restaurant

Implications

Both of these successfully conducted indicates how fast domains of Artificial Intelligence and Deep Learning is progressing. No wonder these AIs can ease up daily routine tasks but eventually everything has a price. Age of Technology does not believe in magic but denying something does not means its does not exist. With current rate of progression in AI, in coming few years, lines between reality and fantasy will be blurred and we will not be able to easily judge what's real anymore. Holograms and Augmented Reality are perfect examples of that. Obviously major portion of humans will prefer to live in fantasy world by disconnecting from the real one.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Great post, @bluemist.
I believe that AI is the threshold point. It is proof that all magic/ fantasy exists, and is real, and in time will be proven to be a scientific fact.

"denying something does not mean it does not exist" - such accurate words , @bluemist.

I loved your post and I am so sorry that I missed it.
Please reply to this so that I can restore the 100% value of the upvote to this post in your reply. :) I know you do not need it. But I want to give it :)

Even your late replies means a lot. Thank you so much for understanding and continuous appreciation although you know already that i don't wanted to reply but could not resist finally :)

And I am very happy that you replied, @bluemist. I feel less guilty now. :-)

And remember, we are on the same page. You put into words what I think .☺
Birds of a feather flock together 🐦🐦 ☺

Your post is really interesting and certainly many people begin to be interested in this topic but do not really know the advantages and disadvantages that artificial intelligence can cause. Without a doubt Artificial Intelligence will suppose an exponential advance in the comfort of the people and the machines will be more and more able to learn and to carry out tasks. It will have several advantages, but it will also entail risks, so we can not avoid asking ourselves: Is artificial intelligence good or bad? I believe that with each successive advance in technology, computers and robots assume more and more human responsibilities every day. Stephen Hawking, the most famous theoretical physicist in the United Kingdom, and perhaps the most famous in the world, thinks that this is a bad thing, that artificial intelligence "would suppose the end of the human race", while other scientists disagree with their points of view. A balanced evaluation begins with examining the impacts that artificial intelligence has on society as a whole, and whether that means a disaster, an advance or a bit of both.
By the way, if it's not too much trouble I wanted to invite you to read my posts. I would greatly appreciate if you take the time to read them, and in case you like them, I would appreciate it if you would give me a vote, a comment, or a resteem.
You have my vote, and I stay attentive to your next publications!

You elaborated both extremes perfectly and i agree solution would be balanced approach. Thank you so much for the feedback.

I already liked your last post few days ago, its common that you also post very less frequently like me. Looking forward to explore more of your posts.

Yes, I don't usually publish daily. I try to write about topics that inspire me or that make me feel something, not just publish for publishing or to receive money.
I always try to leave my heart and thoughts in my post.
I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy yours.

Robots ordering Big Macs from robots flame broiled by robots... The #singularity is here.

McRobot-810x553.jpg

If this becomes real will faith in Allah peace be upon him diminish?

Great invention

Equal parts interesting and frightening.

Same topic, different angle - have you caught the BBC series, "Humans"?

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/humans

It's a very intriguing (if fictional) look at how things might progress when AI is so advanced, it's difficult to tell who is human and who is synth. I highly recommend it.

And yes - I always much prefer to hang out in my fantasy world. Far fewer people there look at me like I'm crazy... 😊

I don't think that you're crazy @Traciyork . You just suffered some tough choices mostly because of the healthcare industry you can't do anything about. But what you can do in my opinion is choose to make sensible choices and be pleasant and spread PLEASANTNESS. That ought to make you happy and at the same time keep your sanity in check.

Thank you, @amarbir. 😊

Your Welcome her Majesty.

Everything has both aspects, constructive and destructive and trust me i too want to hang out in fantasy world of countless possibilities which is mythical, creative..... but what i was referring to, in this post was negative effect, below is an example of that

()



Thank you for recommending that series, will definitely check it out 😊

Yep, WALL-E makes some excellent points. And you're very welcome!

your post is rich

hello @bluemist @appreciator , why are you blacklisted me? what's my fault? i do not understand this. please check this .... i sent you 30sbd 2 hours ago . https://steemit.com/ramadaniftar/@smsadman/ufw3m
JAJ.PNG

Very Nice. Google assistance is a phone call method. Its called duplex.

And no big surprise - after I commented here, I went back over to my FB newsfeed and found this (we live just outside the Boston area). Thought you might find it interesting -

https://www.geekwire.com/2018/boston-dynamics-atlas-robot-learns-run-jump-robot-dog-gets-even-smarter/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94