3D printer, "getting the gears turning" to new projects

in #technology6 years ago (edited)


This is a nylon printed gear, it gave me a ton of problems. I the first layers were not sticking to the bed and it kept tearing up along the edges. After many tests and many fails the printer finally cooperated and gave me two gears that were almost perfect to size. I need to do a bit of scaling and viola! (wish it was that easy)

This gear goes to a small lathe and works as a sheer point. 3d printers are so nice to have, when small plastic things break they will save you almost every time, and the Nylon is amazingly strong! There are several types of materials to print from, everything from soft and pliable to hard and dense. You can even printed homemade recycled plastics from old bottles or milk jugs.

Thanks for all of the support! Follow me @ https://steemit.com/@bobarker if you enjoyed the video : )

Steem it up!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What settings did you use when it worked? Is it blue tape that works best with nylon?

Blue tape is the only thing I have tried, and it was brand new tape, so that shouldn't be the issue. I used the recommended temp for nylon 230 but first layer I did ten degrees celsius hotter. It needs to be hot for a long time before the nylon comes out. When I preheated the head several times it worked best. After the first few layers were down it worked great. Getting them to stick was messy and it globbed the head several times when I didn't watch it close. Have you done much with nylon?

Nothing yet, thats why i was interested how you solved it.

Good luck! It is very durable and gives an amazing print when done correctly. I love it probably my favorite yet but I have only done ABS, PLA and Nylon. I would like to try some other new stuff that is very durable and it can twist and give for impact resistance. Would be perfect for survival situations. But I do wonder how well it can handle hot/cold light and other elements in nature. I will try it out at some point and make a post. Good luck printing, let us know how it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75