You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Reasons Why I'm Learning Functional Programming (or How Understanding Functional Programming Represents An Investment In My Future)

in #technology6 years ago

I'm afraid I'm going to disappoint you. I have no interest in learning programming. I am incredibly proud of myself for learning some very basic formatting HTML and markups, but that's as close as I'll ever get.

My son and my husband are well versed in some of this (I recognized the C++ thing, I think), but honestly, it all sounds foreign to me.

I agree with what you've said, really. Maybe I'm just too old. I don't know, but I can not imagine trying to find the time to wrap my brain around any of it. At least not right now. I can barely find the time/motivation to make food and eat or learn the basics of the chatrooms that I'm supposed to be socializing in.

Maybe learning coding would mean that I didn't have to actually talk to real life humans though, so maybe I should learn that language. Maybe I'd be better at that.

Can you tell that I'm confused by all of this? :)

Sort:  

The key word is "language".

Just like learning another spoken language provides insight into another culture, learning a computer language helps you understand "why" something behaves in a certain way (e.g., why Bitcoin take so long to process, etc.).

But learning any new language takes time and isn't easy for most; especially as we get older.

Nevertheless, every little bit of new knowledge adds to each person's pile of raw material for building their own opinions of the world...

Namaste, JaiChai

I love to see how responsive you are @jaichai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87