SOCIAL MEDIA: the hidden killer in plain sight.

So today, I realized I spend too much time on my phone doing the WRONG things.

I am addicted to my phone


Source

A major problem that most people my age in this era are facing, sadly.

It’s shocking that when I wake up from sleep in the morning, after my morning prayers (which frankly speaking I don’t say all the time), the next thing I do is pick up my phone aka my boyfriend. One click and my internet data is running and the next few minutes of my morning is spent perusing from one social media platform to the next, catching up on all that happened while I was asleep. This is terrible.

I am constantly online, chatting, going through snaps and Instagram post, effortless draining data on the irrelevant stuff while keeping my fashion sense up to date and every other thing back dated. I wish I went through my steemit this much, at least here I get to read good quality post with great content that would impact my life and aid in my mind development.


Source

A few minutes before I started typing this post, I saw a picture of someone I know on Instagram who is currently at Singapore and I think heck, she is living the life. I want to be on such cruise, of course I love to travel, but little did I think about how she got there, how hard she worked to get there and here I am comparing my live with hers, letting myself feel I am living lesser. This is one of the off sides of these social media platforms. We lose our sense of self-worth and start comparing our lives with others and the next minute we stray all in the quest for the flashy lifestyle.

We forget people put up their supposed best versions up on these platform, but of course it’s their lives, their phones, data and all that crap. Yes they are entitled to do whatever they want but how do you the viewer react to the things you see on social media? Do you let it get to you in the negative way?

Social media, here news flies so fast, rumours are one click away, bullying is the trend and comes so easy. Propaganda is so easily disseminated, lives are destroyed, and homes are broken from some interactions on social media. And they keep updating the apps, of course the will so you would continue to be addicted and they would continue to make money off you and the telecommunication companies would continue to make more money on data and you the end user, you continue to waste your life, your time and your money going through these platforms unendingly.


Source


SOCIAL MEDIA and our phones are tools and should be used when necessary, because right now, most of us are carrying this tools around like an obligation and we forget that we should only use them when necessary. We are losing ourselves, our identity to this new menace.

We are been killed with our eyes open, we in fact choose the killer and social media it is,

MY TWO CENTS.

THANK YOU FOR READING.

Sort:  

Only self discipline can help us.

Very true. Self discipline is key but we rarely pay attention to the important things these days.

Congratulations @catherinedouglas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65