You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tormenting my Wife via Open Source Software

in #technology6 years ago

I don't use any proprietary software and I use Linux. I started my computer career back in the days of Atari and Commodore Vic, when someone who shall remain nameless here, said: "you'll never need more than 64k!" But I do understand the frustration of learning something new that is a bit over your head. My husband was much the same as you: "throw them into the deep end" philosophy. He too was a patient teacher though. I was not always a patient student! LOL

Sort:  

Atari and Vic 20, that is going back a bit. I fondly remember the 2600 .. never did any time on a Vic 20 though. An older kid convinced me that if I played the game "Pitfall" long enough, I'd come to the final prize, the "Red Ruby." There was no red ruby .. the game just went on and on.

I knew someone (my ex-sister-in-law) who played a game called Load Runner for23 hours straight and finally, the power pack blew up! I'd hate to think how long it could have gone on...

I guess I am old...I remember the excitement when pong came out! LOL

I have some great memories of playing "Breakout" with my grandmother, on a 2600. Kind of pong like..

You hit the ball up, it destroy blocks, and you hit the ball again. Progressively, it gets faster/harder. If you do it right, the ball can get stuck "above the bricks", and it destroys a bunch of bricks for you without you having to do anything.

I remember the first time that happened to us, my grandmother just about lost it. She got SO excited! "LOOK!! LOOK!!" She was in her sixties and as excited as anything that we'd figured something out.

Good times.

Wonderful memories...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88