Creating my own Robot with computer vision!

Hey guys
today I want to show you my newest project. It is an arduino based Robot which stays inside my own room!

I am using the Arduino Uno as the main controller. It controls the two motors and 3 ultrasonic distance measurement sensors to prevent crashing into walls. I am using my old mobile phone as the camera and a raspberry pi to process it. The software I wrote by myself in python with opencv and numpy. The communication between my pi and the arduino is based on the nodemcu (ESP-12, which is 5v tolerant). It talks via serial communication and TCP.

An image of my litte robot:

My first tries


As I finished the pi software and the commands were send to the arduino, I connected a battery and started everything. But I did terrible mistakes why it crashed many times against my walls. That is the reason why a few jumper cables lost their connections and I had to refigure out which cables goes with to the connectors. Finally I had done.
Next I wrote the arduino code a bit different so it will stop early. This fixed the problem with crashing into walls.
Finally I replugged the battery and now it avoids my walls.

But I realised that the process to classify the image takes to long. So it went outside of my room and it nearly fall down the stairs!

Now I have to improve my pi code to decrease the processing time. Because today it is Mother's Day I visit my mom and can not work on the project. Later I will do it!

I hope you enjoyed the story of my beginning project!
Christopher

Sort:  

Hi @christopher2002!

  • you have 2 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 180021301235 or 0.076 $
  • you need to wait until your upvote value (current value: 0.025 $) is above 0.037 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 1.73 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 0.00 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Take Control! Include #sbi-skip in your text to have us skip any post or comment.

Hi @christopher2002!

  • you have 2 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 181212594677 or 0.077 $
  • you need to wait until your upvote value (current value: 0.026 $) is above 0.037 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 2.17 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 0.00 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.00 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Take Control! Include #sbi-skip in your text to have us skip any post or comment.

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. #communitycuration07

For future reference, posts that are unique to the Steem blockchain are eligible for higher percentage upvotes. Whenever your post is exclusive to this platform, you can use the #steemexclusive tag to make your post easy for Steem's community curators to find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56