Was the IPhone X just cancelled by Apple? - What are the plans from here?

in #technology6 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends,

I want to start off by saying that I love Apple products. They are consistently some of the best-designed pieces of hardware and have a brand that everyone recognizes. I am however not one of those hardcore fanatics that must have every Apple product, especially the IPhone X at its current price point. I have purchased every high-end version of the IPhone to date except the IPhone X. There are plenty of manufacturers like Samsung, who have phones that can do the same thing at a more reasonable price.

It was recently leaked that Apple may do an unprecedented move and cancel production of its flagship phone, the IPhone X earlier than usual and before the release of its next set of phones due to disappointing sales and lower than expected demand. Whether this is true or not, it comes as a surprise since this is a move Apple has never done before, especially with no product available to replace it.

The leak comes from Ming-Chi Kuo, who is a trusted source of information as his information is rarely incorrect or far from the facts. Sales for the IPhone X were higher than those of the IPhone 8 Plus, but less than the IPhone 8. It is predicted that production will cease on the IPhone X as early as this summer.



Image Source

Phones as of late, have been offered with larger screen sizes, which most people have been accustomed to and with the IPhone 8 lacking in that arena due to the notch, which reduces the overall screen size. It was said that this is the primary reason for the poor adoption rate and lack of sales - especially in China.

Even though the IPhone X is out, Apple has plans to release 3 new phones this year. There will be a dry spell from when the IPhone X stops production to when the new phones are released, but if you can't wait, I'm sure many retailers will still have the phone in stock - Afterall, they aren't flying off the shelves.

The three new iPhone X-inspired designs are as follows according to an article from Forbes:

a second generation 5.8-inch iPhone X, 6.5-inch iPhone X Plus and a “$650-750” 6.1-inch iPhone SE replacement which will be fitted with Face ID. Apple hopes it will be the latter two that once again excite consumers



Image Source

I imagine if the price remains where it is, most consumers will again be turned off. This is even more evident given that reports indicate that some features will be removed from the cheaper SE version of the phone. The IPhone X SE is rumored to have a lower resolution than the more expensive versions as well as continuing to use an LCD vs the shift to OLED, which the other phones will utilize. The biggest change will be removing 3D touch, which most IPhone users have become accustomed to.

With Sales and demand for Apple products continuously diminishing, tough times are ahead for Apple. Cancellation of the IPhone X production may be a good move, but I don't think it will help any, or increase the demand for their upcoming line of phones. I think the company needs to get back to a place where they are innovative and creative to bring something unique to the market which is already over-saturated.

What are your thoughts? Are you surprised by the announcement and do you think they will actually stop production?
Let me know your thoughts in the comments section below and If you do have any questions, inputs, or feedback, please also share those with me. I would also appreciate support in the form of Upvoting, Following, and Re-steeming my post if you found it informative.


Sort:  

IPhone and Apple are not competitor.

I'm not sure what you are talking about?

I wouldn't want to spend $1300 on something that I can drop or lose that does not do anything I use it for that my $80 phone can't do.

Yep. At that price, I would be scared to take it out at all.

Wowsers, that would be a shocker. I must say though I am not surprised that the underwhelming specs relative to price is starting to catch up with them. I used to be ardently apple but I was also a tech loving guy and it was for better specs that I jumped ship and havent looked back.

I'm almost to that point. I'm still using my IPhone 7 Plus and have no plans on getting the IPhone X. There is just no innovation or jaw-dropping features that makes me absolutely need to purchase the phone

Everyone that I know that got the IPhone X seems to be disappointed with it. No one cares about the face unlock feature or the emoji. Its expensive and in my opinion the OLED is the only real reason to have it. But future phones will have OLED. I think the expectation was to have wireless charging not conductive charging... I watched the videos of leaks of how they obtained the patent and saddened by the lack of innovative features. Those that have the 8plus seem to be the happiest with the portrait mode camera. It is pretty cool. I think ill wait to upgrade when the next gen comes out.

Me too. Before it's launch it was touted as the next evolution in mobility and all we got was a phone that does everything that all other phones already do. The face unlock feature is stupid and just a long shot at trying to put something in place that they can call innovative - and it doesn't even work that well. Listening to my brother (he got the IPhone X) it seems you have to also completely re-learn how to use the phone with all new gestures, swipes, etc. Too complicated for too much cost.

One thing i dislike about Apple is relatively high price of their products without competitive market considerations via substitute products. Quality is usually guaranteed but to an extent depending on the country of use

Yep, and they just keep getting more expensive because people will continue to buy them. With sales declining, maybe Apple will be forced to re-think their pricing strategies.

Honestly, I think that apple sucks lately. So they "invented" an new iphone which is pretty much the same as the previous version. Also, the price is much bigger.
I think that they are making too many mistakes nowadays, still trying to sell basically same stuff.

Me too. Apple is missing the innovation and vision that it once had. Everything that the brand's image was built on is just getting tarnished now. To me, they don't have the dazzle and excitement that they used to.

This post has received gratitude of 1.26 % from @appreciator thanks to: @cloh76.

You got a 2.20% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cloh76! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

What does SE mean? I prolly wish to have iphoneX but since I can't afford, I'm using a Samsung with reasonable price. I bet iphoneXplus will be more expensive. IphoneX costs 60-70$. Maybe iphoneX plus will cost 100k. I hope not.

SE = Special Edition. It's a cheaper version of the more expensive model minus some features and using LCDs instead of OLED

I mean iphoneX costs 60-70k PhP not dollars. LoL. Ohh now I know.You have a lot of knowledge about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64