Nikons "Get Out Of Jail" Dynamic Range Still Astounds me.

in #technology6 years ago

Having shot with Canon for a couple of years before making the switch, I never had the ability to salvage detail from 3 stops in each direction. The dynamic range on Nikon cameras was the main reason I switched, and it still blows me away.


I don't often use strobes so I'm prone to fucking things up sometimes, as was the case here, where I overexposed both the ambient exposure and the illuminated subject. I nailed it later, but this angle and pose were appealing to me. Luckily I was able to salvage plenty of detail in the sky and on the models face, despite being overexposed. A few raw adjustments, and bit of photoshop, and I ended up with a serviceable image.

Edited version on left. Original RAW (SOOC) on right.

00000h.JPG

Nikon D750. Nikkor 28mm. Godox AD200.
1/1600 ISO 100 F2.2

Sort:  

Oh man thats a killer shot!! Youre right too, Nikons DR is still thw gold standard. It says a lot that all the new Sonys Ive been looking into, all cameras that have just been released over past past few month, are all being compared to the D750. When else has a camera thats 3 years old held up so much. It just shows how far ahead of its time it was when it came out.

Cheers dude. It was yourself who first showed me the D750. I think I bought mine like a week later!

amazing end product. the clouds are so moody

PP! Thank you for the lovely comment! x

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH OMG!!!! DO MORE IMAGES LIKE THIS PLEASEEE

nawww stahp! x

Love the feel of the portrait! Dramatic!

Class save! If that was one of mine I'd have had to trash it. Extra points for getting good light out of that little godox too, that thing never obeys the laws of optics or physics for me.

Ugh I dunno. I really should have used a bigger modifier me thinks. Happy enough though under the circumstances. You gotta come to one of these group shoots dude! I heard Kev is organizing the next one.

The next one must be a piss-up in a brewery so :P

wow great side by side pics interesting to see that stunning :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64