You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Tech News - Are Kids Addicted to Technology?

in #technology6 years ago

This is so blatantly true what you are saying. It is an addiction.
Just last night I went out to eat with my family and they could barely eat let alone carry a conversation without being on their smart phones.
Then to add to my displeasure after we came back to the house it wasn't many minutes before all conversation ended and as I looked around everyone except myself was nose down into their smart phone.
I decided to leave this alone and tell them that next time no smart phones.
Thanks for the great post and keep it up.
dubloon135

Sort:  

This is a really sad story here. I know my friends put me in check when I pull out my phone while hanging with them, it is rude. We need to remember how to socialize and that means putting away the tech and really getting involved with them!

Many young people, in recent times prefer to communicate with fiends and family via text and over social media rather than have a face-face confrontation. Its easier for people to type out the words without having to notice the immediate reactions of the other person. Some people even use this as an escape from the real world. Continuous misuse of technology eventually would lead to a breach in communication among members of the society. Seclusion would be come a norm and people would soon prefer the blue screens to human interactions

I think that is a great rule, it's crazy to think that we need to put rules like this in place but this is where society is at. I don't have this problem with my family but we often spend time just looking around and observing our surroundings and we're often faced with a world of zombies on their phones...

If it's this bad now... imagine what the next generation is going to be like!

cortisol rising big time over time fatter kids and parents!!!

Do you not have kids?

@johano I'm not sure who your question was aimed at... both of us talked of our families.

Right. I was not sure if your family includes children. Nowadays kids want to have their share. I couln't imagine exceptions. Of course there are.

Yes I have 3 children, 10, 17 and 20.
My husband has never owned a mobile phone ever.
I did but I turned it off about 2 years ago now.
My 20 year old has one but uses it very seldomly and has just connected a landline so he can be on it less.
My 17 year old doesn't have one and has no interest to have one.
As does my 10 year old, she is very against phones.

My husband has done a lot of research into subjects like this... this is just one area he studies so my kids are very aware of all the dangers of owning and using such devices. But like many have said, children are a product of their environment and if they see their parents addicted to their devices, what hope do the children have when they're grown up seeing this is normal.

@jayclar30, I just had to give you an upvote. It is both refreshing and encouraging to read about your family. Kudos to both you and your husband for being good role models. Maybe if there are more parents like you, there will be hope for the next generations.

Thank you @tmayd : )
It has become very obvious to us through our learning journey that these dangers are often kept hidden from the general public. If it doesn't suit industry, they do a great job of dismissing the dangers or it's covered up completely, not without them adding safety warnings in their devices (who no one checks) to take all liability away from them first!

We know people high in the telecommunications industry (who are aware of the dangers) and we asked them how is this allowed? Why are our governments not protecting us from these things?

The response - The government has no idea, they rely on us to tell them what they need to do. They don't have the staff or the intelligence to be able to know better, so they have to rely on the telecommunications industry to advise them. Technology is moving as such a rapid rate that not even industry can keep up with it, so how can we expect our governments to. - Fair point!

What it has done has highlighted some of the problem areas such as testing should be done first before rolling anything out. We've become such a backwards world where we test after the harm is already caused when it could have been prevented if the testing was done first (by independents to flush out corruption). The system is so wrong...

When you see the reports about parents working in Silicon Valley sending their children to tech free schools and not allowing their children to use or own the devices they're making... you know something is wrong!

Thanks. This is really amazing. I guess this happens under "special" family and school situation you are lucky to live in.

So far so good :)

or overeating and cortisol rising fatter kids and parents... total over the hill addiction!!!!

Fatter and dumber. In short, the devolution of the human race!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74