You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sites selling your data aren't evil

in #technology6 years ago

"Advertisers don't know who you are" - You are wrong. Of course, they do know. Yes, they do not know the name but they know who you are based on your activity. Advertisers do not necessarily need to know your name to target a specific person or group of people. I may not remember your name next time I visit steemit, but I may remember "Sites selling your data" which is enough for me to know you on Steemit if needed.

Sort:  

Nah, in that situation, you wouldn't be the advertiser, you would be the platform serving ads, like FB or Google. The advertisers merely hand over their ads to get served. Moreover, the tracking algorithm would not see me as a "person", but as a target, My real identity is completely irrelevant to this system.

Wallmart never gets my information. It is not them who decide to show me something. Google/etc does. Wallmart just trusts Google will do what's best for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75