You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could The News Get Any More Fake? - Disturbing Developments in AI, Image Manipulation and Generated Realities

in #technology7 years ago

Great post. I've been aware of those things for some time.
I probably call them "ALT Reality" or maybe "Virtual reality" tools

To me fake news is different and equals deliberate "lies" or mis-truth designed or intended to mis-lead the viewer / reader in order to "sell" a message or story. Other wise known as propaganda.

Sort:  

To me these could very well be tools used in the future (perhaps even now) to make generating fake news and propaganda a lot easier, especially when looking at the first video and watching Trump and Putin's lips moving to a live actor's performance… They could make it look like anyone is saying anything they want.

I agree, all possible and so realistic I couldn't tell the difference,
BUT (and it's a BIG but)......

I'll call your VR propaganda thought, & raise a Poe

Maybe Poe should be back on the worlds reading list?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71054.38
ETH 3862.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52