You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Considering Linux? Here are some pros and cons to consider

in #technology6 years ago

Great Post.

I think the most important thing to keep in mind is, that when you use Linux you are in charge what your computer does as opposed to Windows.

The driver situation is also not as bad as it was years ago. You can try Linux with a live Distribution to see if everything works out of the box on your preferred computer.

Sort:  

You are absolutely right on both points. As to try a live distro, I suggest that more than once, but I have tried some live distros and everything was working fine and after installing, I had problems, so that might not be so linear as it seems. But that was some years ago too.

True, but it shows that your device works with Linux generally. It also helps to get accustomed to the different approaches of the window managers. You should add links in your post to 1 or 2 starter distributions. That would help beginners to get started greatly I think.

I didn't add links but I refer Ubuntu and Linux Mint. But I'll follow your suggestion and add them in the end of the article and when I mention them. Thanks. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84