Artificial Intelligence: Who is being flipped: Burgers or Workers?

in #technology6 years ago

Don't get me wrong, I love artificial intelligence.
I think AI makes the world an easier place.

I even wrote about why everyone with a website should get their own chatbot.
https://www.mostlyblogging.com/chatbot/

However, when I saw robots flipping burgers on CNN 10, I did not know what to think.

On one hand, the robots have many advantages:
They won't ask for a raise
They won't call in sick
They won't cause "drama" with other employees
They will make sure the burgers are all the same size
They will make sure the burgers aren't overcooked or undercooked.

However, I felt the same kind of sadness I felt when I first saw an orchestra at a musical in the theater replaced by one man with a lot of electronics which could help him reproduce the sounds of an orchestra-- without the musicians getting paid.

What about at the market? Have you been in lines where you scan yourselves and the checkers who used to ring you up used to work there?

I heard Amazon is planning a big New York store where there are no workers!

People go in, and when they take something off the shelf, it automatically gets billed to their account.

How do you feel about machines replacing workers?
Are you ready for people to become even more obsolete?

I look forward to your comments.

Are you torn about the advantages and disadvantages of technology like I am?ChatBots Dominant Grraphic.png

Sort:  

I hate that this push for more robots to do jobs puts people out of work. On the other hand, it becomes easier for someone in a hurry to do things themselves, hence self-service stations. I'm conflicted. One thing I refuse to do, however, is install Alexa. I draw the line at something that bills itself as "always listening" and has been known to cackle.

I am with you on the Alexa piece!

Although, I do say "Okay Google. . . " to my phone a fair amount and expect an answer back, lol.

Hi Rachel, LOL! I use Siri all the time! My spelling has worsened and she's a big help.
Janice

Hi! Great to see you here. I really think this would be a fun community for me if I could only see my wallet go up even one penny!
I actually have Alexa; I figure there's more good than bad. She's a good AI assistant when I need one.
Janice

I am old enough to remember having a bank book and how I used to have face to face contact with a human when I wanted to deposit or withdraw money. These days I watch as the younger generation use the cell phones to pay for goods and I often wonder if they know just how much money they have in their accounts, do they keep track of it all? I don't use the self scanners at the supermarket because I know that the introduction of such methods has put someone out of work and in some cases onto welfare. Some never recover. I don't know the answer but it sure bears thinking about. At what point will AI become dangerous, making decisions we may have no control over. Most proponents of AI only see the monetary advantages, what happens when AI learns to reproduce itself? Like you, I have reservations about it's future.

Hi Burdekins,
Thanks for your comments. I don't use the self scanners for the same reason as you. I feel too guilty. Regarding your concerns about the future of AI, my daughter has echoed your very words.
Janice

I totally love this, I feel are taking to many jobs and adding to the increasing of unemployment. I refuse to use the self service checkouts in the supermarket.

Hi Beth,
I don't use the self service scanners either. Did you read the other comments here? People are saying the same as you and me. Thanks for writing.
Janice

I've done a fair amount of research on this topic, so I have quite the option, haha. I know it seems like people are becoming more obsolete, but what I truly think we see happening here is the inability of the market and our government to catch up to automation that has been happening for close to 300 years.

At the start of the 20th century nearly 90% of all employed people were employed as farmers. Today less than 10% of employed people are farmers, yet we don't have 80% unemployment. That's because in 1910 lawmakers saw that automation was severely reducing the number of farmers that would be necessary and state and federal government enacted legislation, known know as the "High School Movement", to get people (mostly teenagers) into high school so that they could develop the skills necessary for a 20th century economy. It worked! Around the time ATMs were introduced people thought that bank employees would become obsolete. There are currently more (in terms of numbers) people employed by banks than at any other time in history. Changes in the industry necessitated hiring more people.

So, I am not bothered by automation in and of itself. I am bothered by the inaction of huge corporations and lawmakers to do anything to ensure that people are able to get by with meaningful and useful employment.

Hi Rachel,
You really are knowledgeable about this topic! Thanks for your detailed, thoughtful reply. I think you have a great idea. We can use AI and if there were government regulations, we wouldn't have to worry about the future. Thanks for your comments and all your help.
Janice

I'm so glad to help!

I also want to clarify, when I talk about government regulations I'm talking about limiting AI - what I imagine are things like Universal Basic Income.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69