Goodbye iPhone...

in #technology7 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen... Today, with a heavy heart, I have decided to part ways with iPhone franchise of Apple Inc.

image
Image Source

My first iPhone

I got my first iPhone back in 2009-10. It was an iPhone 3GS and i was totally ecstatic to get my hands on a premium device like that. I was still studying at that time so obviously my savings took a real beating in the process.

image
Image Source

I was coming from a Symbian background so i immediately fell in love with iOS. Snappy, fast, amazing GUI, long story short it had everything i needed.

My Journey with iPhone Franchise

Since my first iPhone 3GS, i have always bought an iPhone to cater for my smartphone needs. Though, I was not like one of those guys who would stand in long lines on launch day of new iPhone.. However, i have used every iPhone model since 3GS with the exception of newly launched iPhone X.

image
Image source

Why am i leaving iPhone

Most of you might don't know this, but i was a serious iOS enthusiast until iOS 7 chapter was closed. I had my own programs written in iOS dev kit and i used to design a few jailbreak tweaks for my own personal use. However, after the sad demise of Steve Jobs, it felt like Apple was clearly out of revolutionary ideas that once was the hallmark of the company.

I still gave it sometime with their iPhone series of 5 and 5s, which had nothing special in it other than being larger in size and having touch ID respectively. But i knew that Apple is heading towards a disaster. It seemed like the only job of their R&D department was to enhance the size of screen of each new variant with minor (read : negligible) improvements packed along with mere gimmicks.

Also, with each new iOS version, came along a set of new bugs that absolutely ruined the fun of using that particular iOS.

Final nail in the coffin

Despite all their shortcomings, i still preferred iOS and iPhone over the virus infested android and android based slower and buggy phones.

I had big hopes with iPhone X release. I thought, they will launch the phone of the century packed with their state of the art technology. I watched the whole damned keynote and suffice to say that iPhone X sucked big time. You can watch the keynote here.

iPhone X Keynote
Courtesy: Global news channel youtube

Even if i set aside iPhone X for a moment, i also had big hopes for iOS 11, which was supposed to make me finally get rid of my jailbreak with their customizable control centre. However, their dev team instead decided to eat bugs in their lunch breaks and shat out the same in their iOS development work because that buggy control centre iOS 11 was enough reason not to download iOS 11 at all. Apparently, if you turn off wifi, bluetooth or mobile data from control centre, they dont actually turn off and remain active in background.. 10 bloody years in the making and thats what their dev team was capable of?

I mean i am not looking for a matrix style smartphone here you idiots but when your iOS is bugged to this level, it turns the active user experience of your "premium" smartphone into a tiresome formality..

Final Words

I am moving on to Android phone (with a heavy heart indeed) but i am sorry i just cant take it anymore. My Xiaomi Mi Mix 2 will arrive in January, 2018 and thats it. End of an era.

image
Image Source

I will, however, keep the door open and if Apple manages to push out a smartphone that is not just full of marketing gimmicks but actually has something innovative to offer then i will be willing to come back. Of course it has to be augmented by a bug free and crap free version of iOS...

How is your experience with iPhones and Android phones? Let me know in comments.

I hope my story has helped fellow steemians. Kindly consider to upvote and resteem

Regards
JBN

Sort:  

Sounds like Apple has lost track of what to do. Steve Jobs was a big influence and your post shows that he is being missed.

Apple is a premium name and iPhones are premium devices. They still make a lot of money and their phones sell big time but user experience like yours can bring a whole empire down on its knees.

People at Apple Inc. better gear up or someone else would take over.

I personally have no experience with Apple or iOS; except that one time I helped a friend change his ringtone to GOT one. Haha!

Android has been my preference always and I am okay with what it has enabled me to accomplish from my smartphone; which is a lot. Yes, Android does get slow in the end but there's so much people can do with it.

Hope your experience with Android goes smooth. Upvoted and resteemed this post already.

Yes true

I agree with all you opinions about apple. 11 sucks, me and my stoned freelance musician friends would make a better QA team. Thank you. My 5s was way better than androids incredible 2. Android phone seemed to require maintenance. I would still recommend an iPhone to a friend, but I would feel a little embarrassed... kinda like if one were to scream "I like farts" at a ballet.

Hahahaha.. exactlyy

By the way, I found that the best way around the iOS 11 update is to simply select the option to update "later" and then select disagree at the licensing agreement (EULA ) every time, over and over... until you get hacked! Doah... maybe. Anyway, it takes much longer to remind me to update that way too. 🎃

Thanks man.. i really appreciate it.

@jbn Nice piece. Please can you follow me? I'll follow back in seconds . Good morning

Sure. Lets hope you have something constructive to offer to steemit.. i will be looking out for your posts..
leap of faith. Eh? ☺️

Ya i will be making my first post today. You can unfollow if it doesnt repostion yoir mind for destiny actualization

I dont think we as a community need to be crude to the level of yes or no. I will follow your posts no matter what and will curate them as we move along..
stay blessed

Thanks man. I am humbled.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 73.0% @klye upgoat, thanks to @jbn
It consists of $1.58 vote and $0.07 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jbn to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jbn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 0.76 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @jbn. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70