You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Silicon Valley Strikes Again

in #technology6 years ago

I'll be writing about this in much greater detail, but two relevant points here...

First, blockchain really isn't the answer for anything but blogging or recording transactions. You can't do media on blockchain, and of course we need reliable ways of storing data that isn't handed out to thousands of blockchain nodes. So we need reliable servers, and if we have reliable servers (and all that requires), blockchain is a useful tool, but not really critical.

Second, Amazon is, I think, not too far from jumping fully on the censorship bandwagon. They booted codeisfreespeech.com from AWS just the other day. I'm glad they're not going too crazy yet, but I think it would be a horrible mistake to assume they'll continue to treat authors fairly as time goes on, especially as they become even more dominant.

Now is the time to be building our own sites and stores, and working on making it as easy as possible for customers to go from buying an ebook online to reading it on a device. Maybe it'll be a few years before Amazon turns tyrannical, but I definitely am not going to wait until they turn their guns on me to do something about the inevitability.

Sort:  

I don't want to trust Amazon either. The idea of a single company determining the online shopping and publishing experience doesn't sit right with me. While it's still the big player in town, I will be exploring alternative publication/distribution options. My current go-to is Smashwords and its distribution partners, but I suspect (and hope) there'll be other and better options in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86