#Robotics-Creating My Sumobot Series -[Phase 1] - The Planning

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

wall-e-1872683_1920.jpg
The planning, for me this is the hardest phase of creating something because it is very to hard to start because of the overflowing ideas that you have and you didn't know where or how to start . But, put first things first, so we just not need to rush on and think that deep on this. We just need an ambitious thinking and some sort of thoughts. So let's Start Now!

BTW, if you want to know more about Sumobot or what the heck is it,I have a post about it you can refer on the link or if your not satisfied with my post go search it on google your free to do so :)

Note: I'm not that good on grammar so I apologize for the wrong grammar.. :)

The Planning

adult-creativity-design-1020325.jpg

So there are things that needs to be considered on making a sumobot, so with that, let's divide it on 3 big major parts the Sumobot body,The electronics and the Robot's behavior..

Robot's Behavior

I'm gonna start in the Robot's behavior.Planning the behavior includes the whole actions on what the robot will do on scenarios or use cases that you want to be included.For example the behavior of a robot on what to do when detected the white boundary line. So basically, this is where the battle strategy comes in.On how will the robot act on situations that he detected by the use of its senses or its sensors.

On designing behavior here are some things that needs to be considered:

  • What will sumobot do when detected an enemy?
  • How can sumobot find an enemy?
  • What will sumobot do when detected the boundary line?
  • How can sumobot detect the boundary line?

So for me, considering this things here are my answers:

  • What will sumobot do when detected an enemy?
    At the first time my sumobot detected an enemy , It will just go around the sumobot arena and disregard his enemy
    it will just attack on the third detection of enemy

  • How can sumobot find an enemy?
    By using a sensor that could detect an obstacle on its line of sight

  • What will sumobot do when detected the boundary line?
    Turn around then move forward

  • How can sumobot detect the boundary line?
    By using a sensor that could detect a white line.

So given the answers on those bullets plus the additional requirement on the competition that I am joining, at start up my robot must have a delay start time for 5 seconds then next, for the first move of my robot, I want him to find the enemy's location then when he found the enemy's location go to the opposite direction or any direction avoiding the enemy, do it 2 times.Then, on the third detection attack the enemy until pushed out of the ring. So illustrating the behavior on a flow chart, the robot's behavior should flow like this.

Flowchart.jpg

Electronics Component

So for the next step,given that you already have the sumobot's behavior, you will need now to identify what are the active and passive components you are going to use to achieve the sumobot's behavior such as sensors,batteries, MCU's and motor driver.In identifying active and passive components, I suggest to look for already modular components so to lessen soldering works.

I know that it is not that easy to identify all the electronics component that we need to use but at least we can now able to identify the sensors that we are going to use considering your Software behavior.So just an extract of our software behavior considerations we need the following:

  • Sensor that could detect obstacles
  • Sensor that could detect lines
  • A devices that could make our robot move
  • A device that could control and process the bahavior

So for me here are the Sensors that I am planning to use:

  • Sensor that could detect obstacles
    I will be using an Obstacle IR Sensor and Ultrasonic sensor.

  • Sensor that could detect lines
    I will use a line IR sensor.

  • A devices that could make our robot move
    I will use 2 motor with wheel and a motor driver.

  • A device that could control and process the bahavior
    I will use Arduino 2560 because that is easy to use and Have more pins that i can use for the sensor

  • Power Supply and Battery
    I will also be adding some power distribution board and Battery.

Sumobot Body

So for the body, you need to think about a design that does not have a spear, hook and any design that could harm or hold your opponents robot (part of the rules of sumobot).You also have to consider the weight and you must comply on the weight limit on which division you are planning to compete. The Sumobot body material should be made of wood, steel,plastic or aluminum.On this part its up to you on how your body design will look like the most important is that you did'nt break the rule.

So for me, I want a bot that will have a 4 sides, and has a long ramp in the front . So i just want the basic design of the sumobot that looks like this?

Body.jpg

:) Sorry about the drawing I'm not that good on and i cant create a CAD or else where :) I will just show you a better one on how my bot's body looks like on the next phase which is the analysis.

Thank you guys for reading and please let me know if who is interested and also doing a sumobot with me by replying down below or if you also have suggestions just reply below.

Upvote,Resteem or Promote will be so much appreaciated :)

See you on my next post! Thanks!

Sort:  

This post has received 20% upvote from @resteemvote and curation trail. Thank you for using our service @jlthegreat!

Our Resteem and Upvote Monthly Subscription is now available! You can get 25%-50% Upvote on each of your post. Check the details here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63