How to Play Dwarf Fortress Over SSH!

in #technology5 years ago

dwarf-fortress-terminal-ssh.png

The instructions linked below are for Arch Linux without Xorg installed (so essentially terminal only arch or what you get after a fresh Arch Linux install).

If you are using Ubuntu server or another distro, the steps should be close to the same. But not exact so please do your research. You may get lucky and just have to edit the config file.

You may also message me here or on Matrix if you need help.

Get the step by step over on jrswab.com

Sort:  

Awesome! I usually don't play df over ssh but I do play in TEXT mode. I have even made test recordings using https://asciinema.org/

Posted using Partiko Android

That's so awesome! I just started getting into the "game" and am in love with it already.

I don't have a lot of time to play, but the complexities have held my interest longer than any game has before. Currently I figuring out how to use the manager. The last game I couldnt figure out how to cancel the job of placing an artifact on a pedastle in a museum. Eventually I ended the game when all the dwarves were bitten by a wereelephant.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't suppose either of you have recorded any of these sweet ascii sessions?

Congratulations @jrswab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83