You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you know your computer has been hacked?

in #technology7 years ago

This is something that will never go away and I commend you for helping people understand the signals to a compromised computer.

I can't being to tell you how many times someone has come to me asking why their computer is acting up and these signs have been there.Most often it results in me having to reinstall their operating system after backing up their files (if possible).

To many people don't understand who to stay safe on the internet to keep these threats at a minimum. They open every email, download any little app they see, sign up for shady websites, and use the same easy to guess password everywhere.

I find it really hard to educate people on this subject. Most of them don't want to bother with security and call me obsessed when I share with them what I do to stay protected. Things like using a different password for every site, encrypting passwords that I cant' store in a password manager, encrypting files that hold sensitive data, and so much more.

It's a shame that being secure is such a hassle and I don't think it will ever be convenient to be secure. This will keep people paying out ransoms to get the data back or loosing it all and having to start from scratch.

Keep up the good fight and the hard work!

J. R.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87