Is it possible to be cursed by TECHNOLOGY? 🤔

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

steemit slika.jpg
Source

Yesterday I started to think about this possible/impossible possibility.

Here are the reasons why...

It was such a lovely day three years ago when I landed on a Spanish land, in Valencia to be exact, with my basic technology equipment, my Dell laptop and my HTC phone

"So happy to be in a new country which is going to be my new home for next 7 months. I am going to take a lot of stunning photos and all new life's stories that are waiting to happen will got their own space on my new blog." I said to myself. So happy!

A couple of hours later I came to my apartment. The first thing you need to do when you reach your destination somewhere, especially abroad, is to call your parents, right? I think we are all familiar with this one. If I don't call mine, they will think I am dead, obviously... those kind of parents... 😶

So, firstly I tried to connect my phone with WiFi from the apartment since I didn't have a Spanish SIM card yet, I mean, I just landed right? Something went wrong immediately. It couldn't be connected. "Hmm, maybe wrong password." I thought... "I am blind anyway." I tried a second time, still error. I tried again and still nothing. Again and again and again! Nothing! Got a bit upset, but still was thinking I will succeed with my laptop . "Let's try with the laptop!"

Took my laptop and guess what? I forgot to bring my charger and, of course, laptop was empty. How would it be that it had at least 10% of the battery... no way... I am not lucky as that. When it's bad it needs to be bad till the end. The rule of negative thoughts, negative energy?? I don't know, but I knew back then that despite calling and saying that I am super safe I need to say that I forgot to take one of the main things with me. "I will have lectures, boring lectures..." And I did... So "happy" 🙄

Couple of days after I found that WiFi in the house was working perfectly, but it still couldn't be connected. I called my "technology expert" and reported the issue. He said: "Kata, I don't want to sound rude, but your phone is dying." RUDE?!?!?! This was rude! I tried to forget his saying, and tried to live without WiFi option; it was hard but I was doing good. I mean, some people don't even use internet so I tried not to be so spoiled by this modern world. I was doing just fine until...one day...

After a just couple of days I noticed that my battery was going a bit crazy. In one moment it had 90%, after, just 20%, 30%, later 70%... Sooo strange! During my thinking that took its time, one day phone couldn't be charged anymore. Shock! My phone died! My "technology expert friend" was right. I should have listened to him. Ah!

Brought a new one, Xiaomi one.

Meanwhile, my mom sent me the charger, you remember? I left it home. So happy to have my laptop again! I plugged and waited a bit since it was without battery for a long time. I waited patiently 20 minutes, 30 minutes, one hour, two hours, 5 hours, 10... still waiting... It was dead! It was dead!! I sat down and cried for a while. I think I died a bit wit HIM too.

First phone now laptop! 😩

I began to doubt that this was all the fault of the electricity in the apartment. It is impossible for two things to die in about the same time and for the same reason! It was impossible. How is possible to lose two most important things you need when you come to the unknown place, new county, new everything...

I was really desperate. More because I came there to do my Internship that wasn't payed, so... with not much money and these things are expensive. Such a nightmare!

DD_EHSSufferers_JLongo_2500px.jpg
Source

I bought a new one. Spanish keyboard , Spanish challenge. Asus one.

New phone, new laptop, new beginning.


After Valencia I moved back home and soon after I went back to Spain to spend more 7 months there. This time I moved to Seville.

It was such a lovely day three years ago when I landed on a Spanish land, in Seville to be exact, with my basic technology equipment, my Asus laptop and my Xiaomi phone.
"So happy to be in a new country which is going to be my new home for 7 months. I am going to take a lot of stunning photos and all new life's stories that are waiting to happen will got their own space on my laptop." I said to myself. So happy!

Withdrawn my past bad experience I immediately checked my phone and my laptop as well! "Everything was fine!" I mean, I had my charger, both devices worked with and without charger and all I needed to do was to contact my parents and before that, find WiFi router in the house. "All clear!" I thought.

While searching for the router and the password, I came across to my new roommate. I asked him about the WiFi and he started to laugh. Confusing as I am, I didn't get the joke until he said: "Welcome to the Stone Age! We don't have internet in this house. The company doesn't want to give us and since we are not official residence of the country we cannot buy it ourselves."

"Did he just say that we don't have internet??!?!? Now when I have a new phone and a laptop I don't have internet?? Not funny at all!" This was going to be a new horror story. True story.

So, according to the situation... I was living without internet for 6 months, yep.

"The life is just testing me, everything is cool. I am in a beautiful city! Wont be in the house EVER!"

Walking around, enjoying sunny day, city views and taking photos. Wonderful! One picture I took that day seemed a bit strange. Took another one, the same. I looked more precisely and saw it was BLURRED. Took one more. BLURRED! Took 10 more! All them BLURRED! Couldn't believe my eyes! I was dying again...I was. Phone without a camera is equal to my life without pizza! I like pizza a lot. 😬

jackdrunk.jpeg
Beer makes everything better

Needed to buy another one.

Soon after, brought a new one, new Xiaomi one.


One year after, agony was given one more extension and for now, the last one.

Last month I joined Steemit. It is completely a new experience for me and I like it being here around with you guys reading your posts and enjoying this community atmosphere, but, since I have a full time job here in Lisbon now (9 hours nor even 8) I don't have much time to spend my time here and cannot write so often. That was bothering me so I decided to write from work. To do that I needed to bring my laptop with me. Each day I was bringing it, taking extra care of it and was writing and enjoying. Business compared with pleasure. I was happy.

I was happy until yesterday... 😔

Woke up very early (5.00AM) and woke up in a very bad mood. Everything was against me. Almost overslept time getting up, woke up really late, tried to prepare my breakfast but failed. Breakfast ended on the floor. Tried to make a salad for lunch. Failed. Salad ended on the floor, oil on my clothes. Time extended. I was really late, but I didn't fail this time. Entered in the tram, sit down, put down my laptop, bag, scarf and jacket because it was really hot after running. Reached my location. Went out and took my jacket, scarf, bag and went out. Did I forget something. Of course I did...

My laptop continued its road and half of my life went down with HIM... I failed.
I was sad enough that I couldn't have any reaction. I left myself down. Pictures, videos, every memory, last 4 years of my life bye bye

After hard research I didn't find it. First, it was abandoned than stolen, of course.
"Welcome to Portugal!" driver and the policeman said...

... and then I asked myself, am I cursed? 🤔

What do you think, am I?

The ones who read it till the end, thank you very much for your patience 😊
If someone is sharing the same story, you're not alone 😉

Stay safe!

Yours, K. ❤️

U5dt1bLY48Xxk4o1dYmJX42xH9PqvN9_1680x8400.png

Footer by @baldos

Sort:  

I was really happy there is a new post on my wall made by you- Katarinazaja... and now I am little sad... I can give you recommendation- strart use googlephotos. You can share into cloud your photos from phone, pc and it is free... and you know- you didn't lost them, they are in your head, nobody can't take it from you... have a good day! Be positive! This is reason why make new better photos! It will make you stronger! Everything is happening of some reason ;-)

Thank you for this encouraging message @truestories :) This for sure happened with a reason since I've been saying to myself almost one year to put photos on cloud, to make several backups. As I was lazy enought, now I learned on this way 😬 it's only technology, as @alktoni said better this than health issues. I am already having a good day after your comment :)) thank you ❤ Have a nice day too!!

Pegla i gotovo. Srića da je tehnika zamisli da je bacilo na zdravlje.

Da, da! Bizi bizi! U usporedbi s tim, kako se kaze, sve zlo u tehnologiji bilo :)

Cool post. Got my eyes fixed from the beginning to the end.
Yeah I understand that feeling when you go on a journey and you forgot your phone or laptop charger.
I guess your second coming to Spain was a more prepared one but yet it was disappointing if not totally. As you you said phone without camera is like life without pizzar
Lovely post in all. I think everylone of us has their own fair share of the technological curse

Hi @promize123 :) Thank you for reading and leaving this lovely comment ❤ I hope that everyone of us will not have these kind of issues anymore, if it's possible... :))

Yes me two..
Just followed you, hoping you could follow back and drop by my posts.
Thanks a bunch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73