A lesson for Starters: how my steemit account was hacked and my reputation turned to (0) in no time.

in #technology6 years ago


Due to my curiosity to make steemit my daily tonic, i ran into the hand of a hacker i don't know. Well, you may say "has anyone known a hacker for sure?". It all happened last two weeks.

It was one fateful day after i had posted a post on a pupolar section on steemit. So, i went on to do other things. I came back to check my post to know how well it was doing, i checked to see that no upvote so far but a comment had been made on the post. So, i checked to reply the person on whatever might be bothering him on the topic posted. What i saw was entirely different from what i expected, the guy dropped a link after some few words telling me to sign up on the link with my key that i am going to have lots of upvotes on my posts if i sign up. Well, out of my naivety and curiosity to earn on my posts i signed up with my key. Very funny, huh? I landed to the site with fake steemconnect link.

I saw buy upvotes with 0.5sbd and get 2.5sbd in return. I never did anything with that Ad though, so i continued with my regular routine on steemit to read some posts on cryptocurrency and bitcoin with programming posts as well. The following day i checked my post to see how it was doing again, then i saw the second comment on the post, so i rushed to read the content therein. The poster said, 'do not click on the link of the poster above', the person went ahead to tell me that he(the said person) will hack in to your account and steal all your hard earned money. He showed me some explanations how the link the guy asked me to click was a fake. After i was done with the guy's explanation, my hands were fidgetting and my body couldn't hold it any more, i was telling myself at that moment that my acount is gone for good. After the third day to the incidence, i tried to log in to my account, i could not log in , the error message i got was " Incorrect password". I said, finally, the guy has hacked my account. i checked my account on a friend's account i saw that my reputation has changed from 35 to 0, then i said, it is over.

Few days later, i checked again to see if i could still log in, then i checked my wallet, beneath it, a guy dropped a message with 0.001 transfer to my wallet and said, 'if you saw this message it means you're hacked'. He said again, 'if you can not log in, click the link below to recover your password.' that was how i got my account back but a severe damage was done already and i am looking forward to seeing people helping me to gain my reputation back on track.

The moral of the write up is, do not open third party link.If you are hacked your account will bear the damage just like mine bore it own.

This post was meant for all beginners or should i say newbie and those that are curious to earn be careful on links that they gonna be clicking.

If you know this post help you Upvote and follow.

Sort:  

Can you make a new account?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73