Unboxing the XP-Pen G640

in #technology6 years ago

So here's it - the thing I ordered from Lazada a fortnight ago. A 6x4'' drawing tablet that was sold at RM99 - a price that shocked my friends. Normally, you don't get drawing tablets below RM200. So here's a life hack: Always watch out for deals on online shopping malls, normally they will give huge discounts AND a few discount codes that you can make the most out of it. The original price of this thing is about RM250 so... :3

Looking at the price you already know that it is some budget drawing tablet, but whatever, I am going to use it for note-taking in class and some drawing. Beginners don't need insanely expensive stuff. Plus, it has a sufficiently large 6x4'' active area with up to 8192 levels of pressure detection and a battery-free stylus that comes with 20 replacement nibs. That should be enough for two years...? I feel that it is pretty good for its price, let's go on...


image.png

The package was delivered by Ninja Van, and it indeed looks like some mysterious ninja package, with the exception of having my details included on it. With my friend's help (forgive me for having 0 experience unboxing stuff, I almost never buy new stuff), we tore the package open, here~

image.png

Quite a neat box I will say :3

I'm slightly more interested in what is inside it. With his fingernails, we managed to remove the plastic and stickers and whatever that kept it intact. It's in the library and we didn't have cutting knives and stuff like that...fingernails OP.

So let's see what we have here...

1.jpg

Ah REEEEE the smiley face is SOOOOO CUTEEEEEEE

I need to install the drivers first, but it actually works out of the box if you do not care about the pen pressure and compatibility with other drawing software and only use it as a mouse replacement (such as playing osu!). I will be using it as a drawing tool and note-taking tool, so obviously I need the drivers. After some configuration, this felt right for me. Using absolute positioning for mouse somehow causes the cursor to wiggle a lot. Probably it's due to my screen being 16:9 while the tablet's active area is 4:3. Absolute positioning is more for osu! players - I am one, but I'm not using it to play the game so it doesn't matter for me. It's also quite hard to reach any reasonable high pressure that is required in drawing software to create visible strokes, so I just tweaked the curve so I can reach the required pressure level with minimum force applied. That's a good thing in the long run too, since pressing lighter prevents the nib from wearing out too fast.

image.png

It comes with a fairly long USB cable that I can happily put at wherever I placed my mouse. I probably won't have that amount of space in a class, so I might just put that tablet on my laps and write from there. The USB cable is long enough anyway. Talking about USB cable, it is quite worth mentioning that this tablet uses a micro USB port. This means that I can just simply use my phone's charging cable for it. One less thing to bring and one less thing to worry about breaking is always good.

image.png


It is quite some effort trying to learn using the tablet. After some learning and tweaking here and there, I finally catch how to control the pen pressure to my needs and use the two buttons on the pen to my advantage - in Krita, one of them can be used to drag the canvas around while another one summons a colour palette and allows you to switch brushes and rotate the canvas to any degree required. I can say that a tablet finally unlocks everything a drawing software gives :D

image.png

P/s: My friend described this image as a "galactic fishball"...

I can say that I am pretty happy with this tablet. It's sufficiently slim and easy to bring around, nicely designed, no charging or battery required, etc. Guess I will be finally able to draw something on the computer again after so long.

Alright, this wraps up! See you next time!

--Lilacse

Sort:  

Wow!! This is pretty awesome looking. I try to draw on my tablet all the time with a stylus, and it's a wasted effort. I can never get very creative, and it it more frustrating that fun. I actually really like the idea of this, because I could see myself using it for various different things.

Can you use it as a mouse pad for your computer?

I think I need to get one...

Much love,
@futuremind

Yep, it can be used as a touchpad/mouse replacement, you even have the right click buttons somewhere near the grip. Some osu! players use it as a replacement for their mouse because aiming with a tablet is sometimes easier. A random vid I just found from YouTube...

Just saying, the game is not that hard all the time, but it is impossible to find easy songs on YouTube anyway

I can fully understand the torture of drawing on a tablet... even with a stylus, the way we hold pens will cause the screen to get confused between our palms and the pen. Frustrating.

Probably get one if you need to draw a lot :P I think it is pretty worth. There are other tablets that are not Wacom (like mine), Wacom tablets are very very very very good but they are expensive lol.

P/s: Just a quote from some YouTube comment if you are wondering how people play osu!.

image.png

That was quite a mesmerizing video. I'm certainly going to look into these pads. Even though the ergonomics of my work station is a joke

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67