A review of the Galaxy S8: An honest review from a former IPhone owner.

in #technology7 years ago

IMG_0762.JPG

Recently I was forced to switch phones due to changing carriers, I had a dilemma. Do I choose the IPhone a phone I have had every other model of since its release or do I choose the Samsung Galaxy S8, a line of phone I had never had. Now I'm one who's always up for change so I went with the Samsung and to be honest. I love it!

The design


The design of the phone is exceptionally well crafted. It sits well in the hand and is appealing to the eye, everything flows seamlessly together as if the phone was one solid piece. The fingerprint scanner for me is just in the right spot, my finger does not have a hard time finding when I want to use the feature. Although, for me the volume buttons could be a tad bit lower. Sometimes I find myself lowering the volume when I need to raise it.The lack of a home button for me is very attractive, the extra screen space makes for massive improvements over their last model. Overall the design of the phone is exceptional given the years time they had to complete the phone.

Operating system and features


The galaxy S8 comes with android version 7.0 I have never had an android phone before so this worried me. Was I going to like it? Was it going to be hard to get use to? The answer to those questions are both yes and no. Yes I love it and no It was not hard to get use to. Android is completely different than IOS however it is just as easy to use. It gives you so much customization from widgets, to themes, It also has enough feature called the edge screen. The edge screen which is one of my favorites. The edge gives you options to look at stocks, your favorite contacts the weather and much more. This to me is a plus considering when using the iPhone you have to search through your phones apps to find what you want. With edge your favorite apps are there just by swiping to the left. ( below is an image off the edge app and some of the features it offers) Screenshot_20170523-135810.png

Secure folder

Another cool feature is the secure folder. This allows you to securely store anything you want from contacts to pictures to notes. You can even change the name of this app and its icon to better hide it. This would surely be of good use if you constantly have people looking at your phone. I mean everyone worries that people will go through their private things, this is solution to that! Everything done on this weather it be a screenshot or a separate email account is restricted to that folder. No one else can see it. ( below is an image of this secure folder) Screenshot_20170523-135358 (2).png

Security

The galaxy s8 gives you the option to choose from a PIN, pattern, password, an eye scan and facial recognition. These will ensure you that no one will be able to get into your phone.
.
.
.
.
There are so many features available on this device I have a hard time deciding which ones to talk about because of this I wrote about what I thought was most important. As a former IPhone user I strongly encourage you to go out and get a Galaxy S8. You won't regret it.
.
.
.

This is also my first tech review if you have any suggestions for how I can improve my next one please comment below.

Sort:  

I changed my phone from iphone 6s plus to Samsung galaxy s8 plus. I love it and I agree with your review too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79