Micro FPV quadcopter, tiny rocket

in #technology7 years ago (edited)


You probably know me from custom toys and ring boxes. Here is my other hobby I do when I need to breathe some fresh air and leave my dusted room for few hours :) It is flying FPV quadcopters. For those who are not familiar with the subject, FPV means First Person View and it is achieved by placing small camera with transmitter on top of remote controlled model. This is getting very popular recently thanks to miniaturisation of technology. I use quadcopters comonly known drones to experience the feeling of flying.
They come in different shapes and sizes, as ready to flight, kits or collection of parts sourced from banggood. I build mine from parts. I started this hobby few years ago with big model, 450mm wide from motor to motor. I was going smaller to mini quads 250mm and160mm to finaly my favorite micro size, 100mm. I think its perfect, its small to carry, I can fly it in small spaces in the park, its light and safe when it drops from the sky and it looks like a toy, so people are not afraid of it. It is also less expensive to build and maintain, broken propellers and batteries are much cheaper. This one is small but fast like a rocket. It is just 86g with battery.

I source the parts from banggood, they have great selection of electronics and good prices. For this build I used list of parts below. The links contain my affiliate code so if you want to buy something from the site, I will get 6% profit. It is another way you can support me, if you dont want, its ok, your price will remain the same:
frame - http://bit.ly/2hchvjx – 5.61USD or 11.99 for full frame kit
flight controller - http://bit.ly/2AlkASP – 15.99USD but you can find cheaper since I got mine.
motors - http://bit.ly/racestarmotor – 32.99USD
ESC 6A 4in1 but I would recommend 10A - http://bit.ly/2yv2nVT - 13USD
camera with transmitter - http://bit.ly/2zdKLgD – 17.99USD
propellers - http://bit.ly/2h5GVeQ – 4.19USD
few 2S batteries - 7USD each
receiver to the system of your choice.

I used carbon frame base plate because my 3d printed version broke few times. I added my own canopy designed in sketchup and printed on my 3d printer. I also enclosed the camera in this custom plastic shell so it is protected and easier to place on the quadcopter.

Soldering is not that difficult, its much less wires than my first few quads. The 4in1 ESC (electronic speed controller) was great idea to save space and wiring. It stacks with flight controller nicely. Each motor comes with 3 wires, each of them need to be connected in right order. If you never built a quadcopter, you need to follow one of many tutorials on Youtube, just search for the parts you have. I am not an expert in this subjects, I just make them for myself. It is not that difficult but its better you follow instructions from somebody better than me.

The quadcopter is not the only cost. You will also need transmitter, FPV googles and Lipo battery charger. I recently upgraded to Turnigy Evolution radio transmitter (74USD on Hobbyking.com), it is very inexpensive option but with great reviews and I like it so far. Googles is expense from 60USD to few hundred, depend on brand. I started with simple box with the screen which worked well for few years. I just received little upgrade Eachine EV100 http://bit.ly/2ivqqsK which I didn't properly tested yet so I cant say I would recommend them but they cost only 100USD and are very small to carry around. I only flew few times and I am trying to adjust to different, smaller screen.
The battery charger I have is the cheapest iMAX B6 for 30USD, it has many usefull functions and I use it for years now.

If you start this hobby, you will realize that the shopping list never ends. The technology moves faster than shipping parts from China. While I waited for my goggles, there were few new models announced. You will be spending more on upgrades, smalles and stronger motors and batteries. I guess its similar with any hobby. Fixing and rebuilding the quad is also huge part, you will learn about electronics even if you buy ready to fly kit. The flying is the best part. Hovering over the trees or speeding around them at gives hard to describe feeling. I now carry around 2 sets of FPV equipment and show people in the park if they come to me to see what I am doing. They are always amazed. I still am, when training on weekends flying around the trees. If you meet me there, come and say hello, I will give you set of goggles and take you for a ride :)
Here are other things I build, mainly Custom toys, show me some love ;)

Ironman MunnyBaba Fett dunnyBatman bear
alt-textalt-textalt-text
Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 12.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @mitchhunter
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mitchhunter to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You are very creative, you have a background from electronics ?

Thanks. I wish I had background from electronics, it would make my builds easier. I am an architect and self tought sculptor but I am curious and learn different things on each project. I now know how to solder and some basics of arduino boards, enough for my purposes.

Self taught sculpture , I like that. All the best, in your journey, I am sure, your hard work will take you in the path of success.

Thanks. Yes this journey is already long and i hope it will lead me somewhere

So unique and creative, well done! :)

This post has received a 20.15 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mitchhunter. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @mitchhunter, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2694 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2517.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Butiful hobby. Upvote you!

Thanks. Yes it is awsome, the closest thing to flying for me now. This little guy is perfect to practice precision before going into racing.

Yes. This is great scale to train for racing. He may be a champion in this new sport. It is also below 100g threshold so no need for registration but check in your country.

Please upvote me also

Great invention.

I didnt invent it but thanks. I just followed instructions from internet.

Oh I see. Anyways it's nice.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 11.57 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59