My Webpages and discord are not working on my PC

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

My bad luck that I updated my Windows yesterday and then the discord stopped working. I also found that several websites were not loading, including GDAX (though I could login to coinbase).

Then I restored my computer to the previous restore point , so uninstalled the update, but still , nothing changed. I tried to troubleshoot windows update and fixed everything , but my computer didn't start to behave normally; discord was not working; websites were not loading...

I also looked on YouTube, and found some videos about fixing problems after windows update, run some codes in the command prompt etc, but nothing helped me.

Finally, I reformatted my Windows, and even now, I am unable to login to discord, and load GDAX and other websites. Chrome is also unable to be installed again.

I have read that some people experience this problem when their windows are updated.

I had bought this PC in 2015.

Can anyone help?

I will set a bounty on this post, and I will downvote irrelevant comments that have upvotes.

UPDATE

Problem solved.

Sort:  

@monajam, I don't need a bounty, tell me where to contact you and how in # pm and I will tell you how to set up the Linux, you will never have any problems as it updates itself. I already instructed some other Steemians about Linux ( @macchiata for example) , so I am sure it will be ok.

Thanks a lot :)
Just sent you my facebook link and email.

so was it really the updates fault?

Yes it was. I lost so much...all useful bookmarks.

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

When you say you reformated, did you wipe your HD before doing so? Or just installed the new windows on top of the old one?

I installed a new window that replaced the old one.
But problem solved now :) Thanks for your comment.

Well, would advise you install some softwares on your pc, and besides which operating system are u using?

I had almost the same problem,
My google chrome wouldn't load pages, so I had to move over to mozilla firefox.

Unfortunetaly most things that i had there (addons) don't work on firefox and I was really sad.

But after 3 months I randomly opened google chrome and it worked.

IDK WTF but I am staying with firefox now as i have all my passwords saved here.

I got to contact one of the workers at google chrome on twitter, and they had no idea what was going on.
When workers at google chrome don't know why it is not working for you, you know you are fucked.

Glad to hear you have solved the problem!

I hate those windows updates. They destroy my PC everytime.... first they take 100 hours to download and another 50 hours to install. In this time the PC can not be used.... And you can't stop this shi*.....its annoying.
Glad that your problem is solved

Nice comment :) 100 hours to download and 50 hours to install, lol...that's almost true. I have heard that if you instal linux, then you won't face this problem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by MonaJam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Interesting, I recently formatted a 2011 era laptop that had upgraded win 7 to win 10 and had similar issues. I eventually got fed up and paid a guy $60 to fix it. Had bootdisks, boot USBs, driver's, etc. Thought why am I losing my mind trying to fix this thing. Best 60 bucks I spent. Glad you solved your problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97