How to Convert a VMWare VMDK to Hyper-V VHDX

in #technology5 years ago

A few days ago, I used Vmware P2V tool to convert my physical server to a virtual server. After doing that, I wiped the machine. I then decided to use Hyper-V instead. I had to find a way to convert the hard drive to a Hyper-V .VHDX disk instead of a VMWare disk without having an actual running VMWare server.

I stumbled upon Microsoft's Virtual Machine Converter 3.0 which does the conversion. It installs a GUI tool that takes the VMWare ESXi server and converts the running machines to Hyper-V. That did not help me since I didn't actually have an esxi host. I found that it also installs a PowerShell module that you can use to convert just the virtual hard drive to a VHDX.

First, install the tools: Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter 3.0

Second, open PowerShell and run the below two commands. First, import the module:

Import-Module 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter\MvmcCmdlet.psd1'
Second, convert the drive (of course change the paths to your need):
ConvertTo-MvmcVirtualHardDisk -SourceLiteralPath d:\scratch\vmx\VM-disk1.vmdk -VhdType DynamicHardDisk -VhdFormat vhdx -destination c:\vm-disk1
And after some time of processing, you will have a VHDX!

 


Originally posted at https://moreabout.tech/how-to-convert-a-vmware-vmdk-to-hyper-v-vhdx/

Sort:  

Congratulations @moreabout.tech! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58