An IT'er testifies: I just said 'STOP' to all my notifications on my mobile phone. (WhatsApp, FB, Twitter)

in #technology7 years ago

Dear reader,

(Short intro)
Since a week or two I stopped all my incoming notifications, except for my normal SMS and phone calls. I can confirm, it really helped me getting less stress in my daily life. We only have 24 hours a day... So don't throw your time away... You wouldn't do that with your poo too, or would you?

NotificationsTurnedOf.png

Yes, it seems to be a strange thing for an IT'er but enough is enough.
When making analyses and writing programs, getting disturbed every now and then is quite annoying.
That's the reason why I decided to stop all the notifications on my Android phone.
From now and then I take some time to sit back and relax (Yes, you should know this sentence if you already flew with Ryanair) and read all my missed messages.

WhatsApp.png

#But

People expect you reply within minutes, but in a working life it's not possible.
(Even my mother-in-law was sending messages on WhatsApp during working hours, asking if I still likes her daughter!)
So, what I did,... I contacted all of my best friends and told them I've turned off my notifications.
But the same moment I told them they can call me every time, as an ENFP'er it's more pleasant to have a little talk!

  1. Do you have the same experience?
  2. Have you already turned of your notifications?
  3. How do you deal with all these notifications?

Have a nice evening, //Turned of phone
Oele Geirnaert

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68