Amazon Echo (2nd Generation)

My first Amazon echo was the Amazon Echo Dot, which is a smaller version of the full "Echo" device.

While the Dot is a great, device, the sound quality is a huge improvement on the full Echo. At the time, I considered both the Echo and the Google Assistant. I found the Echo had better support, apps, and less restrictions if I wanted to make my own apps (although this has changed and it has locked down as well).

The Google Assistant is getting better, but as a big Amazon user, it seemed like the better pick. Believe it or not, I never actually ordered anything from the Amazon echo even though that's one of the most touted features. Strangely enough I use it mostly for listening to music when I don't want to wear headphones.

I do like the flash briefing feature where I can pick what news apps I want to subscribe to and it will let me ask for a quick update on a daily basis. There are stock, world, crypto, and even tech news.

Want some laughs? This video is funny, some guy got the Alexa, Google Assistant, and Siri to talk in circles automatically.

The Amazon echo is available for $95 on Amazon but sometimes can be found bundled with other gadgets during holidays.

All images are from Amazon product pages

Sort:  

Echo dot is good for playing music from Amazon prime music, basic stuff like asking questions on weather, jokes, setting alarms and reminders. Don't expect much and you would be happy.

It cannot call mobile numbers in India unless they have Alexa app installed. It also cannot control fire TV stick in India. Like the BS given by it's customer service executive that India is a developing country, it seems Amazon believes it can dump half baked features in India at costs comparable to the western world. It's not like Amazon is giving away stuff for free. Give us all the features available for this device.

In its present avatar in India, echo dot is a just a fancy toy which you do not need as 90% of the functions can be performed by your Android smartphone out of the box.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72