E books vs Paperbacks, Why I Changed My Mind

in #technology7 years ago

I've always bought, used and read paper books. But I recently bought an e-book.

Not just any e-book, but my first ever e-book. I didn't know what to expect, would the screen hurt my eyes? Would I miss the feel of paper between my finger tips or the sense of achievement when I can place the book back on the shelf knowing I'll never pick it up again?

Well the answer was no, my eyes didn't hurt. I didn't miss the feeling of paper. I had a new sense of achievement, I had just started walking down the path to removing clutter from my life. Clutter being a paper book at this point.

The e-book I read just so happened to be called "Everything That Remains: A Memoir by The Minimalists"... the irony of it all. The book is beautifully written, and very inspiring, But it left me wanting more. The minimalists are teaching people how to begin to live a much more abundant and happier life, and proving that less can be more. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in mindfulness and self improvement.

What are your guys opinion's? Paper or electronic?

Sort:  

I have both, but do prefer paper books, but being able to carry so many books on a device is really nice!

Nice Post @riches
I am @sitara12511
Please Follow me Back i shall be thankful to you ..

hi. I had included your post in this compilation to share with more people 😃

https://steemit.com/steembooklovers/@ygern/steembookloversmag-23-june-2017-2017623t6475810z

I say that the answer depends greatly on the book and the moment, I prefer digital books for the amazing possibility of searching, highlighting and changing fonts to accommodate the eye, but sometimes there is a certain poetic feeling on a paperback.

Amazing book for the first book on this route to declutter, I​ would suggest next Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeown

Have a great day stem on!

Thanks i'm always looking for new material to read and steem has filled that gap so far but i will definitely give that book a read.

I prefer the feel of real paper books and they look great on the shelf, but Ebooks are more practical in terms of having loads of books with you at all times stored on your device, also Ebooks are more environmentally friendly.

E-books just destroy the fun you have when you buy a book and read it on paper. Nowadays everythings on a screen and physical things are slightly getting phased out

I still will buy Paper but the bulk of my book buying now will be electronic.

Physical things are slowly getting phased out your on a web site that's built around a cryptocurrencys that could on day phase out physical money. "maybe"

I bought me a kobo ereader for practical reasons (going on holiday, limited with weight and volume in luggage) and I was sold! It is more easy to read in the sun then with reflecting with paper of books! And these ebooks are cheaper most of the time + better for nature! So yeah, I love it!

Specially if the book are new.

books that have lots of illustration are still better in physical format. Everything else is really better in electronic format.

Yes, e-book reader is amazing. I am comfortable with it.
But I can't read for long time on smartphone or iPad or laptop screen. Eyes hurt.

The great thing about the Kindle screen is that it doesn't use light to light up the pixels, but rather ink, or 'e-ink' as Amazon call it (hence why the screens are called 'e-ink' screens). The ink is then simply arranged on the screen where the pixels are and this creates the image.
The reason this is so good is that it doesn't require any light in order to light up – and that means that there are no changes in contrast that your eyes have to adjust to. At the same time there's no glass and the material of the screen is different and less reflective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59