Desert Island Question

in #technology6 years ago

This isn't the typical "what 3 books would you bring" desert island question - I find this one to be more compelling and much more personally revealing...

unnamed-1.jpg

So, here it is...

Assuming your survival isn't a factor, would you rather be stranded on a desert island for one year with an inanimate box containing some sort of AI component, or be stranded for one year with a dog, cat, or animal of your choice.

Disclaimers: assume you have a years supply of animal food and a years supply of electricity to keep the AI running.

I have been playing mental ping-pong with this one for days, and have decided it ultimately comes down to: which one do I believe would more effectively pass the time and help me keep my sanity for a full year? (Note: this shouldn't be a question of your actual physical survival).

Before I reveal where I have settled, lets consider the pros and cons of each...

Inanimate AI: this "box" (think Alexa with more ability) would have the ability to converse with you, tell you stories, play you music, talk about movies with you, etc. but would offer you no physical comfort.

Image-1 (1).png

Dog (or cat, if that's your thing): quite the opposite, you can talk to the dog if you please but won't have any meaningful conversation. The dog would offer physical comfort, emotional support, real-time feedback, touch, etc.

IMG_4830.JPG

For me, once I reached my conclusion, it became clear to me it isn't even close: I would choose my dog. Although she can't speak english, there is something much more human about having real interactions with a living, breathing, being that I think would satisfy the innate need for comforting interaction. I think regardless of how much I enjoy my conversations with the AI, it would eventually drive me bananas not being able to hug/see/interact with a living thing for one year - think about the struggle Joaquin Phoenix goes through in "her"..

unnamed.jpg

Besides, spending some QT with this cutie doesn't sound half bad :-). What would you choose?

THANKS FOR READING

IMG_4890.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @ru1016! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ru1016! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

WELCOME WONDERFUL POSTbutterflies-3524415__340.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11