PC Upgrade Blog 2

in #technology5 years ago (edited)

It is the second day of the Project to clean and upgrade the PC (If you haven't seen the original post please Click Here

qgzd5avedt.jpg

So, today I went out to the shops and bought a few supplies (isopropyl alcohol, Air duster/compressed air canister and some Thermal compound)

I brought the PC outside to begin cleaning

7vjj7wo6a6.jpg

Quick low quality photo I took before doing any cleaning up of the PC

I gave it a good spray down with the compressed air and removed most components to individually give them a good wipe down before re-installing them.

Then it came to re-installing the CPU cooler. It seemed to be pretty straight forward and it was, I had already removed the old Thermal Paste with Isopropyl Alcohol and I just needed to re-apply some new stuff and install the Cooler. however I did have a few issues, at first I installed the cooler wrong and the heat wasn't dissipating fast enough causing the CPU to overheat almost instantly. after asking Reddit I was able to install the cooler correctly, but after turning on the PC everything would spin up normally but no signal was getting to the screen, so I made another post on /rbuildapc and after about 20 minutes I got a reply, I had pushed too hard when installing the Stock Intel cooler and the CPU would not start (or something like that, they didn't describe what was actually happening) so I removed the cooler one last time to notice that I had not put enough thermal paste on the first time, so I removed it and added the correct amount of thermal paste. I re-installed the Cooler and now it is finally booting with way better temperatures (Ish). In fact, I am writing this post on said PC.

Before the cleanup the PC was idling around 60c and post cleanup it is now idling around 50c which is definitely an improvement even if it isn't quite optimal.

As always I will post any follow ups to this project when I actually work on it, but for now please feel free to follow me, upvote this post and check out my youtube channel Sir. Peanut Mustard

Thanks for reading


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Congratulations @sirpeanutmustard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56