You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Tech News - Are Kids Addicted to Technology?

in #technology6 years ago

In your article you mention the DSM-5. A little detour first, then I'll get back to the addiction piece.

DSM-5 is the correct spelling, and not DSM-V. They did away with the Roman numerals in this new edition. A regrettable manifestation of the lower educational level, even among degreed professionals (Masters level and above) who are the ones to use the DSM primarily.

(Here I am indirectly advocating for a return to higher educational standards - but I might as well believe in Santa and unicorns, for isn't an uneducated population much easier to control and exploit?)

Back to kids and technology.

The latest edition of the DSM includes "Internet Gaming Disorder" as a Condition for Further Study. At this point the only officially recognized "Non-Substance-Related Disorder" in the Substance-Related and Addictive Disorders category is "Gambling Disorder", coded as F63.0.

I hope that in the next revision of the DSM, the problem of internet abuse/addiction will be tackled explicitly. It is a scourge not only for children but in the adult population as well.

The reason why I'd like it to be coded is that it would then be a bona fide "mental disorder".

I work in this field day in day out, hate putting people in little diagnostic boxes, but a valid diagnosis makes it possible for people who don't have the means to work with a therapist privately to have access to treatment by using their insurance plans.

Disclaimer: insurance companies are evil, but the health system in the US makes it necessary to go through them.

Conclusion: it is time to take action not only against the institutions and system that destroy us, but against the ills that destroy our minds and bodies from the inside like termites!

Sort:  

Very interesting indeed. I know very little when it comes to the codes of individual disorders so I found this helpful. I see phones and computer games completely destroying the potential in students I've taught. It is saddening and makes me wonder what the future really will look like. I hope people can come to the conclusion that technology's use must be limited when it comes to smartphones, social media and computer games!

I am very glad you are talking about this because I believe your voice is likely to be heard. I know others have talked about this in the past, but I don't see this being taken as seriously as I would like it to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70