Tech Free weekend and Squatch Buggy update

in #technology5 years ago

This weekend was spent without the distraction of technology. No computers, no phone (except to stream music), no emails, no TV and no drama. It was a great weekend of Bon fires and laying in the grass looking at stars.

I got a bunch of yard work done, worked on the jeep and listened to great music. I figured out why the steering sucks so bad on the Jeep. Take a look at this picture. You more than likely have no clue what you are looking at, but look anyways. LOL

IMG_20190407_212525311.jpg

See that bar that goes from the passenger side tire and up to the steering box? That should be as parallel to the ground as possible. Running it like this creates really unsafe amounts of Bunp steer. That will be fixed with the upcoming addition of new flat top steering knuckles, crossover and High steering. This will move all my tie rods and drag link above the leaf springs and level them out.

Then I started looking at the wiring mess. This one is going to take a minute. I'm ordering a 21 circuit Deluxe wiring harness. Once I pull the old wiring there is no turning back. That will be later in the summer so I can still play with it this summer. Check out this mess.

IMG_20190407_213424151.jpg

This should keep me busy all summer and through the next winter. Hoping to get this beast together by the Summer of 2020. That's it for tonight. It was so peaceful this weekend with no tech I may adopt it more often.


Proud member of #steemsilvergold!

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

Good job on learning about steering theory(good luck trying to apply those theories). Too bad I'm not closer, wiring is kinda my thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I learned a lot about steering with my VW. Couldn't ever get rid of the bump steer until I went with center steer and equal length tie rods. This is a little different but not bad. It would be awesome to have some help with the wiring. This was what I came up with for my VW. First time wiring a car.

8SzwQc8j2KJb4ARrxQxCjX4jizub4U5CAK3WwB89oRjCSRX9oLNxa4BFo6amY1pf8WdG41wqcwBYf2GyUxRseNUw5a3C8NyeBGcfsr6C3teqQWZq8za.jpeg

That's pretty tidy. Based on some of the pictures you've shown from your job I can see where the inspiration came from.

Posted using Partiko Android

:) It was all spare wires from work. I did the VW from scratch. This time I'll be using Rebel wire. I think I like them better than Painless and better prices. Check these guys out if you haven't already. http://rebelwire.com/rebel-wire-products.php?cat=Wire%20Kits

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 0.55% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85