Reddit and Telegram Banned in India?

in #technology5 years ago

I was browsing through Reuters today and suddenly I saw :
Reddit, Telegram among websites blocked in India: internet groups

I was totally surprised and opened the link immediately. While reading the Reuters post, I was annoyed and thinking "What does the government want?"
What is going on in this country?
They want us to be technologically-backward?

I was whining reading the article from beginning to end.
I launched the reddit app in my phone and it seemed working fine. Then to double check, I launched Reddit's link in my phone browser and it opened just fine.

I stopped whining at that moment, but I am not liking whatever is going on. Possibility is the ban might not have been implemented from all network providers and is in progress.

What are your views on it?
Do you think Government is making us technologically backward or trying to cut us out? OR Do you have any reasons to argue this as 'Citizen Benefitting Move'?

Sort:  

Interesting. Given India is one of the biggest provider of Tech Support services via offshore call centres worldwide, it would make very little sense to be limiting access to what could provide organisations with key information within their industry.

I found you via @paulag's Redfish Power Up League - keep up the good work!

Thats a good point you made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97