Shell access is great because of this one reason

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

This past month got me working and coding on the go. With no certainty of having stable Internet access, I had to rely on using my phone's broadband access. Broadband access here in Sabah is very spotty outside of the city, and it can be a nightmare when I get cut off in a middle of debugging something in my VPS (virtual private server).

Screenshot of my DigitalOcean VPS

Fortunately, I accidentally found out that using bash instead of a web or client-based sysadmin is actually much faster and efficient on broadband.

You see, if you're in Malaysia and you subscribe to Celcom's Xpax Prepaid, it has a free unlimited basic Internet access as long as your credit hasn't expired. This means that you'll always have access to your emails, Internet text messages, and the likes. The catch is that, because it's really slow (capped at a max 64 kbps), you won't be able to browse the Web or download images; this renders most apps useless, especially if you have to access screenshots or photos sent through your messenger/email or even browse Facebook.

And that's where shell access comes in handy <3
Since everything is in text, data transfer is actually made in bytes, so my command line results and codes loaded up really fast.

Debugging my PHP codes right in the server using nano

Of course, this benefit comes hand-in-hand with lower bandwidth use, and can be especially useful if you have a max cap for Internet access. I can't believe I didn't realise this sooner!

Sort:  

Thank you 😃

Lol. Welcome back. I was wondering why u menghilang. Hehe

Thanks, I was overthinking too much on what to post. Won't happen again 😅

wow nice Lorna, looking forward to more tech stuffs from you in the future ! ✌️👍

Thanks, and yes I will definitely be postng more on that!

Akhirnya u balik sini sudah lorna. Punya lama u menghilangkan diri

Ya bah. Telampau memilih apa mau post 😛

Post saja what in mind. As long as not copy and paste, other than that its fine

The shell is great, I like it for my personal computer as well, most of my apps are running in the shell, so I tend to use tmux a lot - protip tmux is really nice for running shell sessions.

TMUX? Will try it. Thanks for the tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82