Elementary Linux

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

I've been using Linux for awhile now. I started tinkering with Linux in 1999 and it was quite a different experience back then. Hardware was not as supported and many settings had to be edited using the command line like dos. I tried Redhat before it became a commercial product and Slackware. It took me a long time to learn the system but I was desperate to get away from Windows for a while. Windows 95/98 were a real mess security wise and crashing was a constant problem. Linux had a reputation as stable and secure and had many different flavors.

penguin-159137_640.png

Fast forward to the last few years, I gained more experience using it and played a lot with Debian, a distribution Ubuntu is based on. Things were much easier now and installing Linux was generally easier and much more user friendly. After my disappointment with Windows 10, I installed Ubuntu and was pleased with the interface and user experience for the most part. I was disappointed to find out that the maintainers of it were going to change their user interface to something new, however.

Linux-luna-elementary-os-4.png

Source

I was already using Android on my PC,which is based on Linux, so decided to dual boot with another Linux flavor. It was Elementary Linux. It had a pleasing user interface and was itself based on Ubuntu. It was easier to install than Ubuntu and had some custom tools and apps that I like. I would recommend this to people new to Linux or those wanting to try something new. It does ask for a donation to download but it is voluntary. Just click on custom and input 0 to get it 100% free.

Thanks for reading!
WIN_20151013_16_27_40_Pro.resized.jpg
Follow me!
Stock images are from pixabay.com not including artwork & photography claimed by me.

logo.png
Like this? Please upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73