My computer blew up!

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

Whats new steemian dudes and dude-ets!?

Hope you all are having a beautiful day! So my computer... ugh well a lot of bad things were going on. Some months back I was attacked with a bad exploit that likely somehow slipped it's way onto my computer through a download. There was likely some error on my end, it happens. These kind of things just happen, a lot more then many of is would like I bet. Running Windows also just happens to increase the risk of many nasty vulnerabilities out there as well. Long story short, I had to completely reinstall the entire OS, operating system, on a new hard drive.

To remedy the situation I of course went and got myself a new hard drive, however, not the usual... I've always heard stories of how amazing SSD, solid state drives are in regards to performance and speed. Holly CRAP were they right!

The SSD I bought...

I bought the Samsung V-NAND SSD 850 EVO. Let me tell you this little guy is a killer! I've never experienced a boot-up time as quick as ever while using normal SATA drives. Needless to say I'm extremely happy with my purchase. If you're at all interested I'll put a link here. The greatest thing about SSD's today is how affordable they have become. A few years back I would have never considered buying one. Anyway ...this isn't going to be a technical post on every detail about SSD's and why they're useful, there are plenty of videos you can look-up on YouTube for that. Just wanted show you all and give a brief update on what's been going on.


With that said I do also want to touch up on a few important notes I've taken away from this experience. For those of you who may not know. Windows machines build up residue every time you use your computer. This can be in the form of files that you download from the various websites you visit. Pictures, video's, and movies, anything you put on your computer is subject to degrading over time. Because of this it is important to always make backups. Personally I only like to install the absolute essentials on my OS drive. System critical applications, such as tools, and other software I use for work. MS office, and maybe a few other applications here and there. Keeping it as bare minimum as possible for me has allowed prolonged usage with minimal problems. What I didn't do, and should have done was been a little more mindful of what I allow to run in the background.

In some cases you could download infected software without knowing. I suspect this is what might have happened to me in the recent past. Rule of thumb, always watch out for suspicious applications on your computer and never download things from sites you do not trust! That's it for now guys, I'll see you guys soon!


Stay tuned for more.

Sort:  

Welcome to the world of SSD.
I don't even touch a computer any more without this...

@sn0w-fox

Haha thanks! Yeah this is like crazy fast... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61