You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Manjaro Linux is redneck geek @WizarDave's Operating System of choice.

in #technology6 years ago

Good luck with this - I hope you get good upvotes. I have tried a couple articles like this (on OpenBSD) and they did not do well.. Can't understand why, Linux/BSD is great stuff. The more people who are away of it, the better.

Sort:  

It seems most people use whatever comes on their computer when they buy it. What most don't realize is getting rid of the bloatware WinDoze will make their old computer zippy like a new one.

I've never tried OpenBSD is that what you run on your box?

  • You might like Arch, if that's what you're used to and ever want to try something new...

Indeed.. installing a smaller distro can give new life to even a ten year old machine. I run a core2duo laptop without any problems. Not great for games, of course, but most everything else runs fine, especially with a smallish window manager.

I've tried arch, gentoo, ub, mint, slack, deb .. all of them, really. I am strictly an OpenBSD guy these days, have been for a good while. I find everything else annoying/messy, and on the linux side, I do not like where systemd is going (and where most distros are following.)

If I had to run a linux distro, it would probably be devuan (debian minus systemd.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99