Jumper EZBook 3 Pro : A bang-for-the-buck Steemmachine!

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

An extensive user review for the Jumper EZBook 3 PRO V4

First things first.


I bought this laptop with my own funds from Gearbest.com and have no affiliation with the Jumper brand. This review will be mostly based on user experience with some technical specifications backed up claims. And now onto the review:

IMG_20180114_114904.jpg

Intro and build quality.

Before my time here on Steemit I was in need of a reliable portable device to work on. Having a powerfull workstation at home I figured I didn't need ultra performing hardware, but rathe something to browse the internet and be able to edit some photo's making documents, powerpoints and exels.
These tasks don't require much power, but I was still turned off by the retail price of "cheap" 11 inch medion laptop/tablets let alone the more fancy surface types of netbooks. In short, I couldn't find anything worth of my money for less than $350. Only to have minimum specs to run windows, low battery life and an awfull screen.

In comes the Jumper EZBook 3 Pro.


IMG_20180114_115206.jpg

It caught my eye when researching cheap chinese laptops being the first one to feature a full Aluminum body at price point of $250. Yes, that's right. This is an ultra budget machine with some very interesting features.

It striked me immediately as remarkably fancy. Having a full Aluminum body with a matte finish and some shiny edges it screams quality. The 14" display was a requirement for me so I could use it without having to zoom in on everything.

This is the V4 (version 4) which features an improved touchpad, better keyboard and a slot on the backpanel to install an additional m.2 SSD without having to open the back entirely.

IMG_20180114_115055.jpg

When typing on the keyboard there is no flex and the hinge of the screen is very tight, which is goiod in terms of build quality, but makes it so you can't use only one hand to open the laptop as the bottom half lifts up.

Specifications and day to day use.

The internals are really just enough to make the device run smoothly throughout it's daily use. It rocks an Intel Apollo lake N3450 with 6 Gb of ram and 64 Gb of internal eMMC storage with the additional expandability of an optional m.2 SSD (not included of course)

For the screen it uses a Full HD (1920x1080p) IPS anti-glare panel which looks very nice. The anti-glare makes a static image look like a printed foto which I noticed reduces strain on your eyes from working hours and hours on it. It is not the brightest screen, but even in bright daylight it is sufficiently clear to work on.

The battery is one of it's strong points too, given it claims to have a 10.000 mAh battery (composed of 2 smaller battery packs) which seems to check out. I have managed to get out as much as 8 hours of work (Excel, Word and Chrome) out of it before reaching 10 % battery life and plugging it in.

IMG_20180114_120924.jpg

For connectivity we have 2 USB 3.0 connectors, one on each side. 1 audio Jack, a power connector and a micro SD card slot, which seems to be present on most of these cheaper chinese laptops. And last but not least a mini HDMI connector so it can even be used as a portable workstation that you can plug in at home on your decent sized monitor with wireless periferals.

IMG_20180114_115016.jpg
IMG_20180114_115027.jpg

Using it for Steemit has shown me the true power of this laptop, not in terms of raw power, but in usability and reliability. I had no problems editing photos, writing posts and being on chrome for hours (which is a known RAM consumer). Even doing a little Bytecoin mining on it, remaining stable without even getting hot to the touch. The Apollo lake processors have a very good efficiency and a a TDP of only 4 Watts max so it never comes even close to thermal throttling.

It also features a 2.0 MP Camera above the screen which isn't great, but is good enough for video conferences or skype calls. The version 4 is equipped with dual band WI-FI making internet as reliable as you would expect from a more expensive device.

At 1.4 Kg it is not the lightest of devices. but I'd rather have a sturdy, slightly heavier device than an ultra light, but flimsy one.

Conclusion

At a price point of $250 this Laptop will provide you with ease of use and features other known brands don't even offer at $400. I was overwhelmed by It's features and build quality and hasn't yet let me down in the 3 months of use I have been giving it from just a secondary PC to taking it with me everywhere to keep working on projects for university.

I'd give it an overall score of 8/10 (Yes I am extremely picky when it comes to PC's), but most of you would probably give it an 9 or 10/10 and recommend it to anyone who is on a budget but in need of a portable device to get work done.

Sort:  

awesome review dude. well presented too.

Thanks!, It's an awesome device too!

Great review! I've heard about these Jumper laptops, they're being sold under different names such as 'Thompson' over here in Europe. Price point is absolutely irresistible, amazing that they're able to put a 1080p IPS display in there. Followed, looking forward to seeing more of your stuff.

Thanks you. I am located in the EU and never come across Thompson (Belgium), But as I am used to buy things from Aliexpress and banggood I often don't even look up prices from stores over here as for the sam specs you'll spend 2 - 3 times the price.

It has to be said though that your warranty on these devices, when bought online is close to nihil, so don't drop the damn thing!

Yeah, you're absolutely right! They were sold in MediaMarkt stores (a large electronics chain over here) for a little bit extra compared to AliExpress, but I think it's worth the extra safety.

So, @xyzposter, are you a real chemist? Like one form "Breaking bad"? :))

I haven't had the chance to post chemistry stuff yet. But I will be when I start my internship at Veolia next month. I am in my last year of chemistry, haven't made drugs tho. But I did make explosives once in the lab.

Mostly it is control experiments where you assess more the outcome than the reaction itself through numerous devices and techniques like HPLC, chromatography or AAS/VES for example.

Excellent review, this unit looks fantastic and also from your in-depth coverage performs very well too. Did it take long to come from gearbest.com - and would you rate that site for picking up tech from?
c0ff33commentaimage.png

It took quite long yes, and the downside was i had to pay taxes, about (30 euros) but overall there were no issues or hiccups. Gearbest is considered reliable, though I like ALiexpress more for the openness between seller and buyer.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xyzposter to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Computers today are almost an extension of our mind, mine is obsolete I am working to get a new one, I share with you the need to look for options. I like your post, especially because technological issues are difficult to develop. Thank you for sharing your experience with #TKC Team

Nice review of your own device. This is what makes Steemit cool. It is first hand experience. Better than any review on Amazon. Great buy.

Thanx man, hadn't gotten much time to reply and didn't notice your comment. Damn exams, sucking up the little life I have XD.

Dude... don't worry. The more I'm here the more I see that we gotta post about what gets us the most. For you that is exams. Just write a blog about what you are studying. The audience will follow and you might be better grades.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63