My passive income journey as an online instructor

I have been earning money from online for more than a decade. I never had any vision or idea towards passive income. I am a software developer. I always enjoy creating software or apps for my clients. But in recent years I have grown some realization that I never built a business that would eventually make money without needing me to work actively.

Since last year I have been listening regularly to Pat Flynn's Smart Passive Income podcast. That mainly gave me inspiration towards working hard to grow a business that would generate passive income. I found creating online courses was great way to earn passive income.

I should be honest, it is not easy to create courses as I thought it would be. Sometimes it becomes tedious. But most of the time I enjoy creating courses. Specially after I hit the publish button. It is one of the best feelings. I find the enjoyment is similar to when I finish few miles run. I am not a good runner, I try to run 2-3 days per week for half an hour each time. I hate it so much, specially near the end. But once I am done with my goal for that day, I feel so relieved and refreshed. This is exact same feeling I get for creating courses. For that reason, I forget hard work and start planning for another course next day.

Anyway, it is almost a year since I have released my first course in Udemy. So far I have released 4 courses. In this time I have earned about $5k, which is not a lot. It did not change my life financially. But it did two things. First, I got confident to continue as an instructor and second, I found my way to earn passive income.

If I do the math, on average I earn $100 per month from each course. That means to leave my full time active job, I have to create 40 to 50 courses over time. It is hard, but not impossible. I see people are doing it. I believe if I continue with consistency, my quality will improve slowly and I will reach to my goal faster.

This week I have created a new website for my courses. It is http://CodeWithZak.com. At this moment I will publish courses on both at this site and at Udemy. But eventually my plan is to create exclusive and premium courses for my site. But first I have to build a community around me. I am thinking to add some quality resources into my site, like free source codes, free ebooks. Also thinking to post helpful 5 min videos at Youtube regularly.

Let me know if you have any comments or questions about online teaching or passive income. I will be happy to reply.

Sort:  

Great i am also a iOS developer, if you don't mind can you share your email address for some work talk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81