How listening to TED Talks helped me

in #tedtalks6 years ago

There is knowledge everywhere. The only thing required is the passion that pushes you to learn new things. I used to do my work, never wanted to listen to any news and lived in an isolated zone until my engineering. Then I had to write an English language test to get a seat in reputed colleges overseas. Being a non-native English speaker, I had problem with all the sections of the test. Then my friend recommended me to listen to TED talks every day to improve listening skills, and vocabulary. Therefore I ended up in watching the show every single day.


Image source

I got my desired score, and I am happy for that. Apart from that, the most beautiful thing I learned from listening to TED talks is exploring the world. You name the topic you will find it, some of which are about war, love, emotions, brain, health, personality development, and much more. I managed to listen to one TED talk during my lunch which consists of talks of diverse people around the world.

This talks allowed me to know different ideas. I got to know about wars and how people suffer after wars. The suffering of refugees as well as people who fought in the war. I got to know about many scientific types of research going on, some of which are the ways to clean carbon dioxide, and the means to purify water, and many more. I got to know what are the things that NASA is researching on. Moreover, I got know about the most important one which is food. How food is being wasted, and how GMOs can harm our body, and why organic food is such an essential thing. And many inspiring stories, podcasts, and about mathematics. As I told you, name it, you will find it.

This one has changed my life entirely. I stopped wasting food. I started saving money. I learned much about nutritious eating. In fact, I learned a little about blockchain technology. And I am educating about various things happening to my friends and family. A 20min TED talks every day facilitates you to explore the world and technology. I recommend you to download the app and watch a TED talk each day; you could download their podcasts they release one on every Friday. A fantastic way to learn about the world, so just make use of that.

Sort:  

TED talks look very educational and instructive if you look at what you say. Since I know you are the right person to talk to, I will definitely be interested in TED talk

TED talks is where I learned a great deal about the health benefits of fasting.

i told myself i will learn something new everyday and i chose to listen to new video from ted daily atleast once a day,this is a great learning platform by great people from different field and the lessons are worth it

Good to know that TED talks is exploring the world. The searching feature is also amazing. In this way, you can find what you want. I'll use it for the first time.

You've taken a very good step to not to waste food and save money. I'm also gonna download this app on my phone.

wall i think ted talk is the best place you dont need any book or any movies here you can gain many things i watch it and i love it

well summarized blogging like it

that great stuf dcypto! i will use TED! for learning purposes!
thanks for sharing knowledge with us!
i will download ted app to learn blockchain technology!
you are creative mind! god bless you for helping other! i support you!

Hi @dcrypto yup I also tried TED talks for improving my English language but unfortunately, I did focus on Ted talks and scape this method but I today I set new target to learn about world just like you this is very basic knowledge we need and this is free source of getting knowledge thanks, man I'll write the same post after one month and sharing my experience with Steemit fellows :)

I love TED talks and listen to them on my computer, all the time. This is the first time I've heard someone using them to improve their language skills though. That's a brilliant idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85