John Wick Introduced Me to Fleabag

in #television5 years ago (edited)

I LOVE the John Wick films. They are absolutely fun and over the top and they don’t take themselves seriously...at all. The fighting choreography is phenomenal and Keanu works his ass off to make the character a relatable champion. So I was super pumped to go and peep out John Wick 3 the other day at my local AMC theater. I also want to thank John Wick 3 for introducing me to something I never knew existed but absolutely need in my life going forward. I’m talking about Fleabag.

image

Ya see...those previews before John Wick 3 played a trailer for the upcoming season of an Amazon Prime show called Fleabag and while it aired, I found myself literally laughing outloud. I think I was the only one as the other 6 people in the theater were blabbing amongst themselves...wasting an opportunity to be swept away from the horrors and difficulties of everyday normal life into a world...well...very much one and the same.

Fleabag stars (and I use that term lightly as she is absolutely fucking brilliant and is a STAR) Phoebe Waller-Bridge as the lead. Her character known as Fleabag is a relatable individual who uses comedy as a coping mechanism to navigate through some recent difficulties and tragedies. She is highly flawed, hysterical, stubborn, and charming as you watch her stumble through the pitfalls that we all come upon in this journey through life.

I breezed through Season 1 like John Wick rapid firing a pistol at some random henchman, which isn’t very hard to do as there are sadly only 6 short episodes. I’m about to start Season 2 and I’m literally fiending and angry that I have a few things to do today before I can soak it in.

image

To peg this show as just a British comedy does it zero justice. Season 1 was filled with moments of absolute hilarity and segments where I found myself tearing up. There are even moments where I experienced both of those emotions and actions in the same scene which is incredibly difficult to pull off. I don’t want to give anything away to anyone who is considering giving it a go...which I 100% recommend so I won’t go into specifics. Just know that this show is real. Brutally real as it tackles self worth, depression, loneliness, the need to fit in, financial struggles, failure, triumph, friendship, family, life, death, second chances...I can go on but just sit down and watch the first episode. That’s all I ask of you.

The supporting cast is phenomenal and each have their moments to shine. The show was created by, is written by, and stars Phoebe...who might be my new favorite human. I had no idea who she was at all and was pleasantly surprised to hear that she voiced Lando’s companion L3-37 in the recent Star Wars film, Solo.

image

I love compelling television. Or just riveting storytelling in general and I can honestly say that I could watch Fleabag unravel and stumble through this world forever.

Let me know your thoughts if you have seen it or watch it after my horrendous review that does not do it any justice at all.

Blewitt

Sort:  

I'll have to check it out, thanks for the tip! I just checked and see that the series is already on since 2016! Which is good. So I can fly through them all LOL. John Wick...I haven't seen 3 yet, but love 1+2. And LOOOOVE Keanu Reeves. He seems to be one of the most down-to-earth actors around. I even named my son after him! (Also because I really liked the name) And now my son's favourite actor is Keanu Reeves! And not because of the name... So I had to fly him through Bill & Ted's, Matrix and Point Break (ya, the remake didn't make the cut) and he loved every minute of each of those.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 90000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 91000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's an interesting little comedy for sure this one. Great characterisation - just about the right amount of caricature in there.

It's on BBC three here, so free (well, despite the licence fee).

You got a 41.73% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blewitt! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Howdy sir blewitt! I've never heard of it before but I'll check it out when I have a chance. Great review bytheway. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01