The Nostalgia Re-Watch/Listen/Play Scale - From Video Games to TV, Movies and Music

in #television5 years ago

It's fun to revisit old content that we enjoyed decades ago. What types of content have a high "re-experience" value?

On the bottom of the list is video games. I've re-played Age of Empires, Baldur's Gate and multiple versions of Civilization over the years. After an hour or so, it's boring. Game play expectations change over the years - and decades. Yes, I ran Baldur's Gate through to the end a few times since originally playing it, but each time the experience was diminished.

I did have a successful and fun run at Super Mario in 2003, but not since then.

Books are close to video games. By the time I hit 40, I'd read my favorite books many times over. Today, when I open the digital version, I am looking up a quote or a scene. Nothing like reading the Star Wars Mos Eisley Cantina scene every 10 years! Eventually, we all throw away our old books to save space. I'm not sure I'll ever buy a physical book again. As soon as I'm done reading it, it takes up space and heads to a container.

Next comes TV shows. Even hardcore TV fans admit that it's not easy to watch TV series from the 1970's and 1980's. Things were slower then and the writing was a lot less intense than what came out in the 1990's and onward. I can't imagine watching Fantasy Island and The Love Boat - though I enjoyed them as a kid.

I did have a good time watching Magnum P.I. again. Everyone has one or two shows that are fun to watch, even 30 years later. Miami Vice? Sure, a few episodes get the point across. Get the ones with your favorite songs.

Up next are movies. While it may be hard to watch 150 episodes of a 70's TV show, it is a lot easier to watch two hours of Blazing Saddles and Saturday Night Fever every few years.

On top comes music. Music isn't naturally visual and is the most passive activity of the bunch. I love listening to old jazz - big band, swing, Stan Getz and many others.

What is your version of the nostalgia scale?

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62