You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Visionaires - contest entry for "Tell A Story To Me - The Known Future"

Love, love, LOVE this story . . . I missed your review of Barouch's book, so I'll check it out as well. I've always loved stories that tackle the space-time continuum, so I have little doubt I'll love it.

Frankreich immediately got me, having lived in Luxembourg while working for a German, as I remember a number of sunny afternoons spent checking out the vendors at the Saturday outdoor markets, and seeing the now-peaceful market squares draped with three-story tall Nazi banners. Jarring to say the least.

I love your voice as the mad Andorran, and the passion s/he speaks with in saving Andorra from the detestable Visionaires. Let's just say I can relate.
;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Given that there is no way you are old enough to to see market squares draped with three-story tall Nazi banners, what the heck were those banners doing up when you were in Luxembourg--"working for a German" - this had to be decades ago, right? Who'd display Nazi anything, in this enlightened era of .... Holocaust deniers, and.... oh heavens. It blows my mind that ant-Semiticism still exists, especially among U.S. politicans who should know better and BE better. (And famous, influential figures, such as the Rev. Al Sharpton.)

Thank you so much for the kind words, and as always, I look forward to more of your own writing!

Oops, sorry I wasn't clearer, I was speaking of period photographs being sold by the market vendors, primarily for the purpose of NOT forgetting what happened.

The Battle of the Bulge blew right through Luxembourg, in horrendous fashion, and by the end of the war, one in four adult males were dead. A generation and more simply obliterated by war, in one of the first truly neutral countries.

You may or may not know, but while I was living in Luxembourg, my flat overlooked a Jewish cemetery at the end of our street; my apartment was in 3 Rue Bellevue, in the Limpertsbierg district, not far from the Altestadt, or the Old City Center.

One autumn afternoon I visited the cemetery, which had numerous graves from different eras, but then a disturbing conglomeration of graves with death dates of 1939, with inscriptions that directly translated to "Died in Exile."

These were the local people transported by train to the concentration camps during German occupation.

Ironically, when we visited Poland in 2010, and first visited Krakow with Marek's mother and sister, they offered to take me to Auschwitz, which is a popular destination among American tourists.

No f^$#ing way. I'm a freaking empath. You couldn't pay me enough to get near that place. Not just no, bit hell no.

In the mid-1990s, a Holocaust Museum opened in St. Petersburg, Florida, near my home and business, and one of the principals came into my frame shop to have me frame all the emblems of the American military companies that helped to liberate the camps.

One of my closest friends at the time was a member of one of those companies, whose company was diverted from marching on Berlin, to travel to Auschwitz to be witnesses.

Their guide through the camp was the former Mayor of Berlin, chosen because he was fluent in English, and because as a political prisoner, he was in far better health than the majority of prisoners.

Joe and I had long and involved talks about what he witnessed, and as I've mentioned before, my sister Carol was a serious student of the Holocaust.

I agree with you. Deniers have two things in common . . . they weren't there. And they have no freaking clue.

Another keeper of a reply!
The grandkids are here... I'll be back later. :)

I look forward to it, have fun with your grandkids!

Posted using Partiko Android

Missed the vote on the post...caught you on the comments :)

How many lives HAVE you lived, dear Cori?

Lolol, I'm not telling. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Um...dont believe that for a second.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, just consider it more evidence of my alien heritage.

Marek thinks I'm from Pluto, but I keep telling him that was just the last stop on the way here. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62