You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Pair of Shoes: Tell a Story to Me Contest

in #tellastorytome5 years ago (edited)

An interesting entry and pure speculation, but speculation to what end?

As I like to just ruminate on things endlessly, I get the surveillance supertext (to play off subtext). Yet that practically is that when it all falls apart when we slide reality ever so creepingly back in.

I mean, I like to be obscene in this part: athletes foot - how in the World will smelly and infected feet be taken care of? I don’t think them insane to purposefully sicken a population when their goal is surveillance. So that shoe practically is a medical aide. Secondly, because we aren’t implicated in any economy: what kind of fashion does this society abide by, is this class structure based upon how a shoe style is, ... and so on and so on? Thirdly, sleep - ain’t nobody wearing shoes to sleep on a normal Tuesday. Lastly, of all things that are easy to throw off and lest that chip really is snug in there, there probably is a hacker group that can easily disguise as merchants and “hack” the chip off and allow common passage.

And while I understand: symbolic gesturing towards the crassity of surveillance of the citizenry and the little things they do (even nowadays if we give a certain thought that our network data is sold by Capitalist companies to a pro-Capitalist spy/counter-intelligence agencies). Everybody had to be extremely convinced for shoes, but I guess this is mocking people who already don’t read the Terms and Services of products and get their data laundered en masse that way. But then again, “reality is stranger than fiction” and this piece is ultimately a tool of comfort then a tool of discomfort as we can distance ourselves from actual surveillance by pointing out an absurd way of gathering data... when they gather absurd amounts of data at this very moment, of everybody that even can access the internet just by the data packets we send to internet towers.

Just food for thought, but of course I found the story comical (except the pain parts) and made me dread when I remembered they do this with no pain and steal money from us as we pay them to access the internet while handing them our data about ourselves. Again “reality is stranger than fiction.” Overall, I love the story more as I ruminated these aspects. Winder what yah got to say for my entry.

Sort:  

You made me chuckle :)
First of all, I hope the child was wearing socks :)) So much for athlete's foot.
I thought of all the ramifications and creating an environment in which this intrusion would be possible, but decided to leave it simple. The emotional experience between mother and child. The loss of mother's control, her helplessness before the authority of the state. And the dramatic loss of the child's autonomy. And you're right, we do it now. Facial recognition, etc.
This was a great comment. Feel free to ruminate on any of my blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83