Raising Tadpoles (Day 117) - More Eggs!

in #tenkminnows5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 117

After checking on the main tank today, I discovered that Tiny has laid even more eggs! Barring someone here convincing me otherwise I'm probably just going to leave this batch to be eaten by the adults. African Clawed Frogs, while not intentionally cannibalistic, will strike out at anything small and moving in front of their face, which describes the young, freshly developed tadpoles perfectly. It'll be around 2 days before the tadpoles start to develop in the main tank, meaning less than 48 hours is the time limit to decide, I'm rather conflicted.

20180819_142409-edited.jpg

I still need to find some way to fix the broken plastic 5 and 3 gallon tanks that can last. I'm otherwise stuck using one of the 5 gallon buckets whenever I need a holding tank, which handicaps my ability to perform water changes quickly. I also still need to deal with the mold on the old air conditioner, I may have to disassemble it a bit to reach everything, which is quite a pain but at least we've been experiencing a wave of cooler weather the last few days.

GOPR2363-edit-edit.JPG

Cleaning the 20 gallon is more time consuming than the 10 gallon, particularly due to the divider preventing any meaningful current form reaching the back section. I imagine shifting the filter so that the intake and outflow are each on one side of the divider would likely solve that issue but I've already found a perfect location for the filter and changing it to a new setup means that there wont be any convenient locations to place the filter.One interesting thing I've noticed since moving the froglets and juveniles that the juveniles seem to prefer sitting on top of one another in the corner with the least water movement rather than sitting in the decor to rest from the the current.

Current Totals:

22 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank)
24 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [9 froglet, 15 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

I think it's fine to let nature take it's course

Yeah, that's ultimately the decision I made.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85