You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Random Things: Get To Know Me

in #tenrandomthings6 years ago

I thought that my streak of 77 days on Duolingo was good, but you beat me easily with that one, haha! This was a fun post to read, it's always nice to learn more things about my Steemit friends! :)

I'm also glad you've changed your diet after college. Hot tamales, string cheese and root beer, oh my goodness, haha! But you know what, I would've never believed that you ate like that, nowadays you seem to be the epitome of health when it comes to eating!

Sort:  

77 days on duolingo is fantastic. Dandays I think got through a week and then had to give it up. He said it was too boring 🤷🏼‍♀️ Como es tu Espanol? El mio no esta muy bueno.

I’m glad you stopped by to read this post! It was fun sharing a bit more than my food :)

Oh, my diet was horrible! The kicker was that I’d run 5-10 miles a day too, and thought that made me healthy. What a meat head I was 🤦🏼‍♀️ Our health starts with our nutrition so am glad I woke up finally.

By the way, Dandays and I ended up handing out candy for Halloween. We bought a few bags of lollipops that leave a tattoo on your tongue, gummies bears and something called candy sticks, which was made with beef geletin come to find out. Handing out nuts or chocolate covered dried fruits would have been wayyy better :)

I'm really bad at Spanish, I cannot put sentences together, but I understand a bit more and that's always positive! I've also been revising Swedish with Duolingo since I currently have a Swedish course, so I haven't had that much time for Spanish... But my Swedish course will end in a few weeks, so then it's the time for Spanish again! :)

Handing out nuts or dried fruits covered with chocolate could've been a lot better (perhaps next year 😉), but lollipops that leave a tattoo on your tongue, whaaaat? That's new, haha!

Haha… yeah I don’t think those tattoo lollipops are half as nutritious as nuts though.

When you pick it up again I’ll drop you a Spanish line here and there. Putting sentences together is the most difficult part, I think. I can’t wait to practice in a Spanish speaking country. That’ll hopefully drive it home.

Practicing a foreign language in a country where everyone is speaking it is the best way to learn. I even have an example to prove you this. I went to Québec for a year as an exchange student and I knew very little French before going there, only the basics really. My host family didn't really speak English, so my only choice was to learn French, and I must say, I got pretty good in a year. You'll improve your Spanish skills so much during your trip, I'm sure about it! :)

Oh, I’m so excited! So are you pretty fluent in French now? Learning this way i hear is always the best- completely immersing yourself in the culture.

I was pretty fluent in French. Yet, I'm not sure how good am I atm, since I haven't really spoken the language in years. However, I think (=hope) it's relatively easy to recall. :)

You should practice here and there. It’s a great skill to have. If I knew any French I’d speak it with you here but I only know a tiny bit of Spanish 🤷🏼‍♀️

Yup, I know, sometimes I watch some youtube videos in French and occasionally I speak it to myself, haha. But it's hard to hold on a skill when you have no one to practice it with. 🙁 Wow, that sounded depresssing, haha. Anyhow, I'm sure you know more than a tiny bit of Spanish, you've been practicing it over a year. Don't underestimate yourself! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63524.02
ETH 3069.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84