The Tartness of Naem Fried Rice

in #thaifood6 years ago


Attachment-1 (14).jpeg

Naem fried rice has this tart and sour flavor that's definitely an acquired taste but once you get used to it, you're hooked. Naem simple means the fermentation of a meat and in Thailand, it's usually in a pork sausage style. There's also naem chicken that's great to fry for people who don't eat pork. I fell in love with naem through the fried rice. I wasn't really enjoying it until I had it that way and have been in love with it since.

Attachment-1 (15).jpeg

My house eats lots of garlic, onions and spring onions so when you get to eat naem fried rice, you don't have to eat as many spring onions as in the video. I just love spring onions and go overboard when I eat naem fried rice. For me, the pungent part of the spring onion gives the tartness of the naem a unique acquired taste. I try not to add more fish sauce of soy sauce these days to cut my sodium intake with the exception of a couple of drops if there's garlic and chilies in the fish sauce.

Attachment-1 (16).jpeg

Naem fried rice is mostly found in Thailand so if you ever get a chance to try it on a visit, you know it's exclusively on your trip. A few people may dislike the first time but most people love it the first time if it's in fried rice. Thanks for joining me for an awesome Thai lunch!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00